Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-10-2008, 06:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Alarm Wire, Stranded or Solid?


After getting quotes from alarm companies, I've decided to do it myself. I'm putting in magnetic sensors (i.e., 2 conductor) and motion sensors (i.e., 4 conductor).

My question is whether it's okay to use stranded 22 awg instead of solid conductor.

gfchew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 10:34 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Alarm Wire, Stranded or Solid?


Gfchew,
SOLID WIRE!! I did home security for 10 years. I would run 4 conductor to all your locations; magnetic and motion sensors. When you hook up the 4 wires to the 2 wire magnetic sensors do this; red to 1 side of the alarm panel lug the other side of red to 1 side of the alarm contact, then the other side of the alarm contact gets the yellow wire. Then in the alarm panel connect the other end of the yellow to the resistor and then connect the other side of the resistor to the green wire. Then at the magnetic contact solder the green and the black wire together. Then at the alarm panel lug connect the black to the panel. This way you will "monitor the resistance" all 4 wires of the 4 conductor. Plus this will allow you to have the resistors off the panel. Also makes for a neat job. Then if you should have trouble there is 2 extra wires at the contact...

Ramblin06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 11:27 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Alarm Wire, Stranded or Solid?


Ramblin, Great advice. I'm really hoping that stranded works as well? Unfortunately, I prewired it in two weeks ago, just prior to dry wall. I have two doors already wired with sensors, but I think I'll try to pull the wires out to configure it per your advice. Thanks.
gfchew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 09:31 AM   #4
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Default

Alarm Wire, Stranded or Solid?


To be honest, I prefer stranded wire when working with such small gauges. Stranded is much more forgiving and will not break as easily. If terminations are an issue due to the wire strands "spreading" under the screw, simply strip the ends and tin them with a soldering iron prior to terminating.

Electrically, there is no reason why you could not use either.
__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 06:15 AM   #5
Newbie
 
TheSecurityGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dallas / Fort Worth - Texas
Posts: 4
Default

Alarm Wire, Stranded or Solid?


Stranded wire is more forgiving to breaks and damage. Both have their advantages and disadvantages. You should be able to access the NEC (National Electrical Code) from NFPA or you local library.

Come see my blog for current security related topics.

Good Luck.
TheSecurityGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 08:03 AM   #6
BUILDER / REMODELING CONT
 
buletbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: LONG ISLAND N.Y
Posts: 1,543
Default

Alarm Wire, Stranded or Solid?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSecurityGuy View Post
Stranded wire is more forgiving to breaks and damage. Both have their advantages and disadvantages. You should be able to access the NEC (National Electrical Code) from NFPA or you local library.

Come see my blog for current security related topics.

Good Luck.
I have seen both used on alarms, But the stranded is more common.
buletbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 08:57 AM   #7
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Default

Alarm Wire, Stranded or Solid?


We use stranded in all of our installations and never have a problem.

The only exception is solid wire in certain commercial fire alarm installs where it is required.

Pulling the extra conductors is never a bad idea in case you have a wire failure down the road or want to add on.

Most of the cost of a hard wired system is the wire pulling cost so you can save by doing it yourself. And if your not planning on having it monitored it wouldnt matter who did the install.

Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 01:14 PM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 09:00 PM
Stranded wire connections Cossack Electrical 7 03-14-2008 10:56 PM
smoke alarm - ground wire Potomac101 Electrical 7 02-06-2008 07:25 AM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 02:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.