Alarm Programming Help - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2009, 08:29 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Alarm Programming Help


Folks,

I need some advice. I'm moved into this new house which already has a DSC PC 1616 security system installed (FK5508 - panel). The alarm seems to be working b/c it chimes if I open any doors/ window.

I want to program an access code so that I can turn on the alarm. I haven't turned it on since I moved into the house. I just want to turn it on at night and when I go somewhere.

I tried to read the manual/reference and nothing seems to be helping. Please guide me. If I call the security company they would charge me just for the demonstration! Please help.

thanks
kirridam

Advertisement

kirridam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 11:29 PM   #2
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Alarm Programming Help


Try and contact the old owners to see if their code still works. I believe there is a way to wipe the code and rewrite it, but it is not going to be information that is hanging out on the interweb. I have a hunch, that the old code will still do it. If you can't get in contact with them, think lazy. Try the address of the house, and then the address backwards.

Advertisement

goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 12:12 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Alarm Programming Help


See if this will help. http://www.ncas.ca/downloads/dsc_1616_user_manual.pdf

Programing codes document page 8 PDF page 13. You will need to have the master code. If you can't get it from the previous owner you can get it from the installer, who you may want to call and have that code changed also.

Last edited by hayewe farm; 03-26-2009 at 12:21 AM.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 11:36 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Alarm Programming Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by hayewe farm View Post
See if this will help. http://www.ncas.ca/downloads/dsc_1616_user_manual.pdf

Programing codes document page 8 PDF page 13. You will need to have the master code. If you can't get it from the previous owner you can get it from the installer, who you may want to call and have that code changed also.
I don't have the master code. I'm the first owner of the house and I don't know who I should contact. Is there a default master code number that I can try?
kirridam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 04:05 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Alarm Programming Help


If there is no installer's label on the equipment, call the builder, try a local security installation company, or contact the manufacturer
Digital Security Controls,
3301 Langstaff Road
Concord, Ontario, Canada,
L4K 4L2

Phone: (905) 760-3000
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 05:49 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Alarm Programming Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by kirridam View Post
I don't have the master code. I'm the first owner of the house and I don't know who I should contact. Is there a default master code number that I can try?
You have a link to an online manual for this?

Last edited by Yoyizit; 03-26-2009 at 05:52 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 05:54 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Alarm Programming Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
You have a link to an online manual for this?
But you would still need to know the factory set master code. That's probably the code tha's already there.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 05:39 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Alarm Programming Help


Its the responsibility of the salesperson to demonstrate all the quirks of your new home! Heating, cooling, utility shut-offs, alarm systems, garage door openers etc.
If you didn't receive instructions for these, you have been short changed and you should contact the builder of your new home!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 09:57 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Alarm Programming Help


your alarm system is in the chime mode . you can turn it on/off by pressing your security code (ex. 1 2 3 4 ) then chime button. that is when you are in disarmed status of the system. when you want your alarm system to be activated at night you can arm it by pressing your code, then the (stay , away ,instant button depending on what type of arming you like). you can disarm it by pressing your code, then the off button.
abbet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 10:22 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Alarm Programming Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by abbet View Post
your alarm system is in the chime mode . you can turn it on/off by pressing your security code (ex. 1 2 3 4 ) then chime button. that is when you are in disarmed status of the system. when you want your alarm system to be activated at night you can arm it by pressing your code, then the (stay , away ,instant button depending on what type of arming you like). you can disarm it by pressing your code, then the off button.
If you read the post, he just bought the house and doesn't have the codes. He wants to program an access code but he needs the Master Code to do that.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 12:27 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Alarm Programming Help


Heres from the DSC website

"Iíve just moved into a new home and there is a DSC system installed, how can I activate the system?
DSC is a manufacturer only, and sells its products through distribution to security professionals. DSC does not monitor, install, or service its products. To activate your system, contact a local dealer/installer"

Bottom of page
http://www.dsc.com/end_user_page.html
aced19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 11:57 AM   #12
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Alarm Programming Help


Call the seller back and have them provide a code for it.

Its a fixed part of the house so they owe that to you.

But calling the alarm company is not a bad option either.
They'll want to sell you the monthly monitoring but an alarm that is unmonitored is pretty much useless.
Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 01:00 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Alarm Programming Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy View Post
They'll want to sell you the monthly monitoring but an alarm that is unmonitored is pretty much useless.
I disagree.
Even if your system is unmonitored it will make enough noise to run the perpetrators off. Due to a recent attempted break in we learned a lot about alarms before we had one installed.
The one key thing if you have an unmonitored house alarm is make sure you have a external alarm. That way your whole neighborhood will know something is wrong. You can pick one of those up for less than $20.
But if you can afford monthly monitoring that's the best bet.
Also check around on prices of monitoring. Because you own your on system some companies will due it far less than a contract monitoring.

Last edited by aced19; 03-29-2009 at 10:09 PM.
aced19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 03:38 PM   #14
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Alarm Programming Help


Most home alarms dont have an exterior siren which is why the monitoring is important.

Also consider that the perp may not be your "normal" criminal. May be a drug crazed crack head and the pretty noise from the alarm may not faze him.

Having an alarm without monitoring is about like have having a gun, but no bullets....

Both work great til somebody calls your bluff.....

Advertisement

Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Evolution Thermostat - Programming MNHouse HVAC 3 11-26-2010 10:19 AM
Hard wired smoke alarm in NYS ADKstorm Electrical 12 04-30-2009 10:58 PM
high voltage fire alarm jungboklee Electrical 3 01-26-2009 10:07 PM
House Monitoring Using Already Installed Alarm System kirridam Electrical 2 01-07-2009 08:37 PM
Physco Alarm... McGaw General DIY Discussions 13 02-15-2008 03:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts