Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-27-2012, 11:45 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 260
Share |
Default

AL splice


I dont think i can go this route but will ask before i end up buying another extremely long piece. If i have # 4 AL bare ground going from neutral bar to copper water pipe and need to extend the Al wire can i use this Al splicer wire lug ? or any other approved AL connector .AL splice-imag0174.jpg


Last edited by hidden1; 11-27-2012 at 11:50 PM.
hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 11:50 PM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

AL splice


Are you upgrading this service or what ?

Normally I use compession connection that is the only thing I ever use on larger alum espcally with EGC ( electode grounding conductor ) I know there are other approved items but it depending on your state/provice is.

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 11:53 PM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

AL splice


The GEC must be continuous from the main disco to the electrode (whether its the rods, water, ufer, building steel...). I know you can purchase irreversable crimp connectors that would allow you to extend the wire, but the cost of the crimper is more than a new run of wire.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 11:58 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

AL splice


From NEC 2008:

Quote:
(C) Continuous. Grounding electrode conductor(s) shall
be installed in one continuous length without a splice or
joint except as permitted in (1) and (2):
(1) Splicing shall be permitted only by irreversible
compression-type connectors listed as grounding and
bonding equipment or by the exothermic welding process.
(2) Sections of busbars shall be permitted to be connected
together to form a grounding electrode conductor.
From NEC 2011

Quote:
(C) Continuous. Except as provided in 250.30(A)(5) and
(A)(6), 250.30(B)(1), and 250.68(C), grounding electrode
conductor(s) shall be installed in one continuous length
without a splice or joint. If necessary, splices or connections
shall be made as permitted in (1) through (4):
(1) Splicing of the wire-type grounding electrode conductor
shall be permitted only by irreversible compressiontype
connectors listed as grounding and bonding equipment
or by the exothermic welding process.
(2) Sections of busbars shall be permitted to be connected
together to form a grounding electrode conductor.
(3) Bolted, riveted, or welded connections of structural
metal frames of buildings or structures.
(4) Threaded, welded, brazed, soldered or bolted-flange
connections of metal water piping.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (11-28-2012)
Old 11-28-2012, 06:16 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 260
Default

AL splice


is this the type id needAL splice-imag0176.jpg
hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Cable Junction Box Splice swstx Electrical 8 07-06-2010 09:16 PM
splice in electrical box dmilne Electrical 2 02-25-2010 10:59 AM
50 Amp Circuit - Splice 6 Gauge Cable to 12-3? jodic Electrical 4 01-23-2010 12:10 PM
to splice or not to splice treedoc Electrical 4 01-19-2008 10:56 PM
Splice box/s between subpanel and main panel? SeanR Electrical 5 05-06-2007 02:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.