Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-27-2010, 08:26 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Air Conditioner Wiring


I am replacing an old air conditioner unit that had a NEMA 10-30P 30 Amp 250 volt receptacle with one that requires a LCDI NEMA 6-15P receptacle. The air conditioner is listed as 15 Amp 230 volt. The new 20 Amp 208 volt receptacle has two brass screws and a ground. The old receptacle is attached to black, white and red wires that run back to two separate 15 amp breakers in the box. How does the new receptacle get wired?

Cano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 10:17 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Air Conditioner Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cano View Post
I am replacing an old air conditioner unit that had a NEMA 10-30P 30 Amp 250 volt receptacle with one that requires a LCDI NEMA 6-15P receptacle. The air conditioner is listed as 15 Amp 230 volt. The new 20 Amp 208 volt receptacle has two brass screws and a ground. The old receptacle is attached to black, white and red wires that run back to two separate 15 amp breakers in the box. How does the new receptacle get wired?
You do not need the white for this 230 volt circuit. Do you have a bare ground or a green ground?

Use the black and red on the two brass receptacle terminals. Connect the ground to the ground terminal on the receptacle. Replace the 15 amp single breakers with a 15 amp two pole beaker. Put a wire nut on the white wire and tuck it in at the receptacle box and also at the panel.
You should have minimum #14 wire for the previous 15 amp receptacle. You must check this and see. Number 14 wire is good for 15 amps. The original receptacle was rated for 30 amp and I am not sure why it was used on a 15 amp circuit. The 30 amp circuit is more believable so you need to be sure what wire size you have.
So you will use the same cable and not use the white as long as it is at least #14 wire on a 15 amp breaker. Larger wire is just fine and most likely it will be larger than number 14.
You forgot the most important thing WIRE SIZE!

However. Where is the 208 designation coming from. Its not from NEMA. Both receptacles and plugs (new and old) are rated for 125 and 250 volts.
208 is only derived from a three phase system and I doubt you have three phase in your house if you live in the US.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 10:26 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Air Conditioner Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
208 is only derived from a three phase system and I doubt you have three phase in your house if you live in the US.
It can if OP have very large service or live in the condo one of the two it may have pretty good chance he may got the triphase supply in there.

For the rest of details J.V. pretty much sum it up and make sure you double check the conductor size that is the main issue.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
Cano (07-11-2010)
Old 06-28-2010, 07:18 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Air Conditioner Wiring


Upon further review, it is a 30 Amp two pole breaker and not two single 15 Amp breakers. The wire is #10 gauge. The 208 was one of numbers on the new receptacle box bought from Lowe's. We live in the US and there is no three phase in the house.

The voltage testor lit up at 110 with the red and black, red and white. It lit up at 220 with the black and white. Air conditioner unit fan up and running strong with red wire capped and black and white hooked up to brass terminals and ground terminal grounded to box. However, after three minutes, when the condensor kicks on the breaker trips.

Last edited by Cano; 07-11-2010 at 08:15 AM. Reason: Posted prematurely
Cano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 07:53 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 06:45 PM
Apartment wiring up to code?? camden2200 Electrical 1 08-02-2009 11:19 PM
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 10:33 AM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.