Air Conditioner Outlet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2013, 02:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

air conditioner outlet


Hello my DIY friends,
I need your help. Is it possible to tap into the back of a 220 v dryer outlet to run a feed to a 220 wall air conditioner? The dryer outlet has 4 wires a black, red, white and ground.
Ray

Advertisement

chonchonater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 02:35 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,959
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

air conditioner outlet


Not legally!

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 04:31 PM   #3
Bill Kearney
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,979
Rewards Points: 1,126
Default

air conditioner outlet


Nope. The startup and load drains pulled by those kinds of devices means they both need their own circuit, all the way back to the breaker panel.

Before your friend prices that out, tell him to look into what a mini-split air conditioner setup would cost instead. Those don't usually require 220 and are often much more efficient than a window unit. And just because he might already have a 220 AC unit doesn't mean he should throw good money after bad. Sell it on craigslist (wait until the middle July for the best price) and set up a mini-split instead.
wkearney99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 05:00 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

air conditioner outlet


I believe that is what he is going to get, this would only be temporary and the dryer and the window unit would never be on at the same time.
chonchonater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 06:38 PM   #5
Bill Kearney
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,979
Rewards Points: 1,126
Default

air conditioner outlet


Temporary until the house burns down. The answer is still no. 220 like this is nothing to be screwing around with. Really.
wkearney99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 12:24 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,704
Rewards Points: 2,368
Default

air conditioner outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by chonchonater View Post
Hello my DIY friends,
I need your help. Is it possible to tap into the back of a 220 v dryer outlet to run a feed to a 220 wall air conditioner? The dryer outlet has 4 wires a black, red, white and ground.
Ray
Is it possible ?

YES.

But is it safe and to code ?

I doubt it !

Like they already said,
Dont be messing with 240v.
it's doubly dangerous.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 12:30 AM   #7
Always learning...
 
fetzer85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Northern WV
Posts: 452
Rewards Points: 250
Default

air conditioner outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by chonchonater View Post
I believe that is what he is going to get, this would only be temporary and the dryer and the window unit would never be on at the same time.
Hmm...so this fella doesn't want any a/c when doing his laundry?

That's beyond the point, which as everyone else said, is no way. Although I'm glad you asked here before doing it, it kinda scares me that you thought it was even an option...
fetzer85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 06:13 AM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

air conditioner outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by chonchonater View Post
....this would only be temporary and the dryer and the window unit would never be on at the same time.
Famous last words.....
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 06:59 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,044
Default

air conditioner outlet


No do not do that. Buy a piece of wire and a circuit breaker the correct sizes even if it's temporary /permanent. Wire and circuit breakers are cheaper than life and property.
__________________
No Warranty Means- If it breaks in half you get to keep both halves.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 10:45 PM   #10
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

air conditioner outlet


I hope your friend has insurance if he tries this.

Trouble is, the insurance company will deny the claim due to unsafe wiring.

Advertisement

__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outdoor Outlet seansy59 Electrical 3 03-09-2012 04:50 PM
Swithced Outlet to Ceiling Light/Fan Troubles adamiano86 Electrical 7 01-29-2012 10:36 PM
Odd Fireplace Outlet Behavior permagrin Electrical 2 12-17-2011 09:06 AM
Switched outlet series Overkll Electrical 4 12-07-2010 08:38 AM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 09:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts