Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2010, 06:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Air compressor wiring, mag, and pressure switch to motor


i have air compressor with 5 HP motor 220 V single ph.

I need help with wiring, I did wire it but something does missing
(I m using white wire as ground)










goranvolvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 06:23 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Air compressor wiring, mag, and pressure switch to motor


what is the coil voltage of the contactor. If I remember correctly, if you look on the underside (near where the leads to the motor attach) there is a label.

one thing you appear to be missing is anything connected to A2 on the contactor coil. Before you connect anything, you need to know what the coil voltage is.

it also appears you are running your power (to the motor) through the pressure switch. I run the control circuit through switches such as that. It allows the switch to be able to control a lower current.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 06:44 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Air compressor wiring, mag, and pressure switch to motor


Right now the voltage is 110 volt on all red wires ,tested with volt meter (there is no label) when I got the box the red wires were already connected , and I did find some info that the power wires donít directly to the motor , so I donít know now Ö
goranvolvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 06:46 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Air compressor wiring, mag, and pressure switch to motor


until you determine the coil voltage for the contactor, I would do nothing else.

Hook up the wrong voltage and you will fry it. There will be a label somewhere on the contactor that states what the coil voltage is. You need to find it.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 11:16 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Air compressor wiring, mag, and pressure switch to motor


First why are you using green as a hot wire? The white and black are power source and the green is the ground.
Your coil voltage is determined by looking at the first picture above. Everything you need to wire up this motor is on the drawing inside the enclosure.
If you do not understand this most simple drawing, I suggest you call an electrician.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 01:15 PM   #6
Retired Electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11
Default

Air compressor wiring, mag, and pressure switch to motor


Air compressor wiring, mag, and pressure switch to motor-img168.jpg
Lsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 01:28 PM   #7
Retired Electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11
Default

Air compressor wiring, mag, and pressure switch to motor


First get the wire colors right (Green is always Grd.) Use lugs on stranded wire. Rewire the pressure switch to the "coil" so that it can pilot the Mag. The coil MUST be the same voltage as the "Line" in this case 240v. The Pressure Sw. has 4 screws ....use only 2 of them (the 2 on the right OR the 2 on the left. Leave the others unused. Look at the diagraham above carefully. (be sure to check the oil in the compressor)

Lsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.