Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-28-2007, 07:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Air Compressor Timer


I forgot to turn off the circuit breaker to my air compressor last night. Well, during the night it turned on, and at some point both connecting rods broke. Since it couldn't build pressure, it ran for who knows how long until I heard it running this morning.

Is there a method or system available to prevent an air compressor running uncontrolled for long periods? I thought of using a timer that could be set to run for, say, 30 minutes every time the compressor starts and resets when the compressor turns off. I think that would be long enough since I don't believe I would ever need to operate the compressor any longer, but if it were unattended, short enough to prevent an uncontrolled run time.

I've searched online, but haven't found anything that has a delay longer than 17 minutes.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Larry

69-er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2007, 07:28 PM   #2
C+M Electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9
Default

Air Compressor Timer


About the only thing I could think of that is practical and somewhat affordable would be a PLC. With a simple timer programme you could accomplish an "off delay" function. The cost of a simple one is under $200.00 now. Although if you don't know how to programme a PLC than, an electrician will need to be paid. Yee-haw

SparkyInCanadaEh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 10:25 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Air Compressor Timer


What about a water heater timer. Set it where the compressor can only operate during the time you use it.
You can always switch this type of timer on manually if needed.

Cheap....Lowes or Home Depot has them. These timers open the circuit feeding the compressor.

Eh Canada....You going to train him to program the PLC, Way over kill.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 10:53 AM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,865
Default

Air Compressor Timer


I'd sorta like to know why the air compressor couldn't build pressure? Something out of the norm had to be in place to allow the compressor to no load run all night. High limit and low limit being in place and working properly should cycle the compressor. Was a tank bypass open or maybe the bleed/drain port? Maybe a hose quick disconnect stuck open? I think your problem isn't one that would not readily occur without an oversite and you are possibly over reacting. I realize you have a rather expensive repair but I think the cause was just "one of those things".
As for switching devices or timers we would need to know just how big this compressor is and its load rating.

Stubbie
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 09-29-2007 at 12:28 PM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 11:04 AM   #5
C+M Electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9
Default

Air Compressor Timer


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
What about a water heater timer. Set it where the compressor can only operate during the time you use it.
You can always switch this type of timer on manually if needed.

Cheap....Lowes or Home Depot has them. These timers open the circuit feeding the compressor.

Eh Canada....You going to train him to program the PLC, Way over kill.

No such thing as overkill when it comes to gettin paid!!!!!!!!! Just looking out for my sparky brothers in the south.
SparkyInCanadaEh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 12:22 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Air Compressor Timer


ehcanada......PLC? Come on.

Stubbie....Could have even been a leak. But good points none the less.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 01:53 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Downeast Maine
Posts: 999
Default

Air Compressor Timer


You could run the compressor to a switch next to your light switch at the door on the way out. That way it's hard not to turn off the compressor when you leave the shop.

But my first thought was the same as Stubbie's - A timer isn't really the problem here. (I leave my compressor on much of the time.) The problem is that something busted so the compressor lost pressure.
NateHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2007, 03:40 PM   #8
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,865
Default

Air Compressor Timer


Install a timer between the pressure switch and motor compressor. If the compressor takes 5 minutes to trigger the high pressure shut off then set the timer to say 7 minutes. The timer will shut off the compressor motor if pressure isn't reached after seven minutes. The timer will reset every time the high pressure switch disengages the feed to the motor when the set operating pressure is reached ... if not... then the timer will kill the circuit after too much time has elapsed.

As I mentioned before the timer will need to be able to handle the load.

Stubbie

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.