Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-22-2013, 09:39 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ann Arbor,MI
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Air Compressor popping the circuit breaker?


So I just bought a "new to me" 25 gallon craftsman compressor from a buddy of mine.. The issue is, every once in a while when I turn it on, it pops the circuit so I have to go reset it in the basement.. Does this sound like an electrical issue on the house or on the compressor itself? The house is brand new but im wondering if maybe they put too many accessories on one break because we ran into that before, but also i was thinking maybe there is a short in the electrical on the compressor? Any ideas on what I can check for? Thanks guys.

justwar8806 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 09:44 AM   #2
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,666
Default

Air Compressor popping the circuit breaker?


Is it on its own circuit? What size motor? What size breaker? What size plug on the end of the cord? What size cable?

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 12:28 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,461
Default

Air Compressor popping the circuit breaker?


What else is on the circuit? It should be on a dedicated circuit for best results.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 01:00 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Pittsburgh area, PA
Posts: 14
Default

Air Compressor popping the circuit breaker?


I have a Campbell Hausfield 26 gallon compressor that I have measured at 13.5 amps.... startup current is much higher for a brief moment. If this is on a 15 amp breaker and there are other things on it the breaker would easily trip at times. Even on a 20 amp circuit it could happen. As suggested it should have its own 20 amp circuit
dan1554 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dan1554 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (03-22-2013)
Old 03-22-2013, 01:29 PM   #5
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

Air Compressor popping the circuit breaker?


probably just an overload situation. You need to reduce the load on that circuit, or plug the compressor into a different circuit.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 05:12 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,445
Default

Air Compressor popping the circuit breaker?


Make sure you have the right type of circuit breaker ?
Motors pull a large amount of current breifly when they
first start up. (many times the running current)
This can easily pop a breaker.
you need a dedicated circuit !
and the correct type of breaker !
Some of the older style breakers
were not designed for these applications.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 05:20 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,810
Default

Air Compressor popping the circuit breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by dan1554 View Post
i have a campbell hausfield 26 gallon compressor that i have measured at 13.5 amps.... Startup current is much higher for a brief moment. If this is on a 15 amp breaker and there are other things on it the breaker would easily trip at times. Even on a 20 amp circuit it could happen. As suggested it should have its own 20 amp circuit
this.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 05:43 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Air Compressor popping the circuit breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
this.
What??!?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 06:07 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,810
Default

Air Compressor popping the circuit breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
What??!?
What I quoted.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
does a household circuit breaker have thermal memory? djmieczk Electrical 40 02-10-2013 06:59 PM
Circuit breaker not returning everything to power after switched back on sam112 Electrical 7 02-10-2013 12:48 AM
New wiring tripping breaker on another circuit? Kinggofg Electrical 11 04-26-2012 01:36 AM
circuit breaker? blueandyellow Electrical 7 01-30-2011 10:27 PM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 05:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.