Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-13-2012, 03:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

air compressor motor


I have a 1 1/2 hp air compressor with a Dayton capacitor start motor [115/230]
wired for 115 volts. it's started tripping the circcut breaker after running for 15-20 minutes. now it trips at turn on. checked capacitor with volt meter seems good. can't find any shorted wires. help!

Brian Hartley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:48 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

air compressor motor


Is anything else on the circuit?

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:40 PM   #3
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

air compressor motor


Pick up a clamp on ammeter. It will help tell you if it's the compressor or the circuit which has the problem.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:10 PM   #4
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,581
Default

air compressor motor


A 1-1/2HP motor is pushing a 20 amp 120 volt circuit pretty hard. I'm not surprised that the breaker is tripping.

Most likely, all the recent tripping has weakened the breaker to the point it's no longer capable of starting the compressor.

It's certainly possible that something is wrong with the motor, but I doubt it.

Also, a compressor is WAY harder to start when it's cold than when it's warm.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:20 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,724
Default

air compressor motor


If you happen to be running it on an extension cord, move it, so that you can plug it dirtectly into a receptacle. Is it unloading properly?
DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 10:23 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Default

air compressor motor


compressor is on a dedicated 20amp circut with new breaker in a warm basement
Brian Hartley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 11:02 AM   #7
Remodeler
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 232
Default

air compressor motor


While it certainly could be a problem in the motor or with the circuit;
you may have some issues with the compressor itself, most likely causes would be that the check valve is not seating or the unloader valve not functioning.

Between the compressor and the storage tank there is a check valve that holds the compressed air in the tank. If this valve is leaking it causes the compressor to have to re-start under load and that would likely trip the breaker. During a run cycle pressure from the tank backing up against the compressor may cause the motor to overload before it reaches it's cut out pressure.

Sometimes the check valve can get sticky from oil vapor or get a small piece of debris lodged in it and hold it open, it takes very little to cause problems.

If the motor will run with the tank bled down or the belt removed I would look into the check valve.
iamrfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 11:07 AM   #8
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,836
Default

air compressor motor


Take the belt off and see if the motor runs without an issue.....if so, it pretty much confirms that your running on the ragged edge....

As an FYI....I have pretty much the same motor....I would highly suggest wiring it up for 240Vac....
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 11:13 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

air compressor motor


Does this compressor come with a cord and plug attached? If not, take the FLA x 2.50. This will give you the current breaker required.
NEMA says your compressor motor pulls 20 amps at 120 volt and 10 amps at 230 volts.
The question regarding the cord and plug is very important. Does it have a factory cord and plug? If not, you take the FLA (current on motor nameplate) and multiply it by 2.5 or 250%. This will be your breaker size.
I am fairly certain you need a larger breaker.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
Missouri Bound (11-14-2012)
Old 11-14-2012, 01:30 PM   #10
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,640
Default

air compressor motor


2008 NEC requires #12 CU and up to a 50A breaker
2011 NEC requires #10 CU and up to a 50A breaker

WHat does the manufacturer of the compressor require in the installation instructions?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:35 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

air compressor motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
2008 NEC requires #12 CU and up to a 50A breaker
2011 NEC requires #10 CU and up to a 50A breaker

WHat does the manufacturer of the compressor require in the installation instructions?
Requires? How about allows?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:54 PM   #12
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

air compressor motor


Despite the NEC allowances, I have seen and operated several compressors, 5HP 240v on 20 amp circuits with 12 guage wire.....on continuous duty cycles. That being said there is an issue with either the compressor or the comprressor circuit itself. There are no quick answers here....this just needs some old fashion troubleshooting.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 07:04 AM   #13
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,640
Default

air compressor motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky

Requires? How about allows?
Ok so I missed a comma. Wire size is required. Up to 50A breaker is allowed. There I go applying "commercial thoughts" to residential applications again.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 08:08 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Default

air compressor motor


The compressor spins over easily and no air in tank, original power supply cord.
wiring is 12 ga, 20 amp plug. i've had this compressor for 10 years with lite use.
trips new breaker immeiditely upon switching on.
Brian Hartley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 08:20 AM   #15
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,581
Default

air compressor motor


What type of breaker?

micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.