Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2008, 08:22 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Share |
Default

AFCI trip when computer turns on


Quote:
Originally Posted by tonydiato View Post
Since the AFCI switch only trips a couple times a week, do you think its the computer power supply on the mac or would it trip all the time if it was that part?

Its a seiemens switch. Can i just change that to a reqular switch?
Do you have push in receptacles? (the wires are pushed into a hole instead of around the screw)

You can't swap the breaker out, it violates code and is a safety hazard.

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 01:47 PM   #17
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

AFCI trip when computer turns on


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
You can't swap the breaker out, it violates code and is a safety hazard.
It would violate code, but it's not really a safety hazard.

Even Mike Holt says he's not going to upgrade his house, because it's perfectly safe without them, and he's pro-AFCI!
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 02:47 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

AFCI trip when computer turns on


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
It would violate code, but it's not really a safety hazard.

Even Mike Holt says he's not going to upgrade his house, because it's perfectly safe without them, and he's pro-AFCI!
We don't know whats going on yet-The afci is tripping for a reason. Could be bad wiring. Thats where the safety issue comes into hand.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 03:14 PM   #19
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

AFCI trip when computer turns on


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
We don't know whats going on yet-The afci is tripping for a reason. Could be bad wiring. Thats where the safety issue comes into hand.
Yes it would be good to rule out other potential problems, but the large number of other people with the same problem on their Mac Pro does point toward high ground leakage current in the PSU.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 03:50 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

AFCI trip when computer turns on


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
Yes it would be good to rule out other potential problems, but the large number of other people with the same problem on their Mac Pro does point toward high ground leakage current in the PSU.

Im thinking they used bad caps?
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 11:31 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default

AFCI trip when computer turns on


The siemens part has 2 wires and a white wire. They push in. The other non AFCI just have 1 wire. I am bringing the computer in for a brand new power supply (350.00) OUCH. Hope that takes care of it. IF not, if put in a AFGI plug outlet, will that trip before the AFCI trips? I hate to keep running downstairs to flip the AFCI switch.
tonydiato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 11:32 PM   #22
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

AFCI trip when computer turns on


Quote:
Originally Posted by tonydiato View Post
The siemens part has 2 wires and a white wire. They push in. The other non AFCI just have 1 wire. I am bringing the computer in for a brand new power supply (350.00) OUCH. Hope that takes care of it. IF not, if put in a AFGI plug outlet, will that trip before the AFCI trips? I hate to keep running downstairs to flip the AFCI switch.
Make them pay for it, if the old one has high ground current it is defective, and a potential safety hazard. If you plug it into a GFCI then it should trip every time.

GFCI is not the same as AFCI. There is no such thing as an AFCI outlet that I'm aware of.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 09:49 AM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Question

AFCI trip when computer turns on


Do they make another Seimens AFCI that has a low ground current so it doesn't trip everytime? Or another brand that would fit in the Cirucit box?
tonydiato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 12:11 PM   #24
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

AFCI trip when computer turns on


Did you test the computer on a GFCI outlet yet? We really need confirmation that it's ground current.

There are AFCI/GFI breakers and AFCI/GFCI breakers. The latter is more sensitive to ground current.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 12:58 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default

AFCI trip when computer turns on


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
Did you test the computer on a GFCI outlet yet? We really need confirmation that it's ground current.

There are AFCI/GFI breakers and AFCI/GFCI breakers. The latter is more sensitive to ground current.
I did test it just now on a GFCI. Worked fine. First time i powered it up, the light in the bathroom dimmed. After that i turned it on and off..and it worked fine. BUT, then i brought it back into the bedroom and did it on and off again. It did not trip the AFCI switch. It does it occationally. SO, if it does it occationally is it the computer or is it the switch?
tonydiato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 02:22 PM   #26
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

AFCI trip when computer turns on


Quote:
I did test it just now on a GFCI. Worked fine. First time i powered it up, the light in the bathroom dimmed. After that i turned it on and off..and it worked fine.
That means I was wrong and it's not excessive ground current. It's probably not an intermittent ground fault in your outlet, or it would happen while the computer was running too, not just when you first turn it on.

It could be the massive inrush when the capacitors first charge. It would have to last for 3 or 4 cycles cycles and pull around 50 amps to trip the AFCI though. Hmm...

I don't think replacing the power supply will help you.

If it were me, I'd put a regular breaker in my panel at this point, or relocate the computer to a different room that doesn't have an AFCI. Replacing the breaker with a standard breaker will violate code so no electrician will touch it. Replacing a breaker means working around electrically energized parts, even if you turn the main breaker off. If you don't feel comfortable doing the job then don't do it. And make sure to complain to Apple and the AFCI manufacturer (using that form that someone posted earlier) so they can sort out what's causing this.

I guess I owe Billy_Bob $5.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 06:23 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

AFCI trip when computer turns on


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
I guess I owe Billy_Bob $5.
No, I don't gamble and never agreed!

Anyway there are a couple of other things which might be interesting to try if you want.

One theory is that "arcing" of a switch or the sparking of the brushes in a motor (Or whatever) will cause this unwanted tripping of an AFCI.

So it has been suggested that a surge suppressor might keep the AFCI from seeing the arcing or some of this.

Also suggested that an isolation transformer might do the trick ($$).

I have not read if these work or not, so might want to borrow one first and give it a try.

Keep in mind that this may also defeat the intended purpose of the AFCI.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 06:28 PM   #28
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

AFCI trip when computer turns on


Seems like the AFCI is seeing the switching power supply as an arcing fault. I believe that AFCIs are junk and are as useless as tits on a boar. But I don't want to encourage anyone to violate the code in effect in their area, but wink wink nudge nudge... I know what I would do.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 10:20 PM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default

AFCI trip when computer turns on


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Seems like the AFCI is seeing the switching power supply as an arcing fault. I believe that AFCIs are junk and are as useless as tits on a boar. But I don't want to encourage anyone to violate the code in effect in their area, but wink wink nudge nudge... I know what I would do.
The really seam to be useless. I survived 46 years in homes without an AFCI. Do they make a 2 wire switch? that will fit in the Siemens box?
tonydiato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 10:15 PM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default

AFCI trip when computer turns on


Can i put a GFCI plug in the bedroom? I have my computer plugged into the bathroom via an extention cord and it has not tripped at all. Will this solve the problem, or will this still trip the AFCI?

tonydiato is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loose electrical outlets travishume Electrical 30 08-01-2008 07:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.