Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-15-2011, 01:57 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

AFCI problem has me stumped

Ok, while I am no professional electrician... I am pretty comfortable with how home wiring works being an Electrical Engineer.

I just moved into a new house and apparently the current code is to have bedrooms on AFCI breakers, they fault when an arc is detected (which I assume means huge current spike) and trip to prevent fires.

The AFCI in my master bedroom keeps tripping and through a process of elimination I've narrowed it down to the lights in the hallway. Everytime the lights are on in the hallway the AFCI in my master bedroom and only my master bedroom trips.

They are definitely on different circuits... I can turn my master bedroom on/off and my hallway lights on/off independently of each-other at the breakout box and the expected results happen (one is on and the other is off).

I've tried replacing the AFCI breaker for the bedroom, that didn't work. I've gotten new switches thinking there was some arcing going on there, that didn't work. I've pulled the lights out and re-wired them, that didn't work.

At this point I am completely stumped, these aren't a huge current draw or anything.

Any suggestions?

WR_ECE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 02:06 PM   #2
fabrk8r

I'm no electrician either, but here's a suggestion...when the receptacles were installed did you "back-stab" the connections? Notorious for loose connections.

Also, have you calculated the total amperage of all loads on the circuit to make sure it doesn't exceed the amp rating of the AFCI?

Old 02-15-2011, 02:13 PM   #3
nap
You talking to me?

Quote:
they fault when an arc is detected (which I assume means huge current spike)