Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2010, 08:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

AFCI circuit breakers


Does the city require AFCI circuit breakers for bedroom circuits?

Skillbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 08:24 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

AFCI circuit breakers


sure, some cities do. In fact, any city that follows the NEC requires them. Don't know if your city does because you didn't say what city you are asking about.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 08:32 PM   #3
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Default

AFCI circuit breakers


If your city is under the 2008 code yes they are
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 09:04 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,398
Default

AFCI circuit breakers


Actually AFCI protection has been required for portions of bedroom circuits since the 99 NEC.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 09:24 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

AFCI circuit breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Actually AFCI protection has been required for portions of bedroom circuits since the 99 NEC.
for portions? The first I remember it, it was "all outlets" in the bedroom. That meant anything from lighting to receps, to smoke/fire alarm outlets that were 120 volt power.

Don't make me go find my 99 code.


as a addendum; Michigan specifically exempted AFCI requirement the first code cycle it was in the NEC.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 10:13 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,398
Default

AFCI circuit breakers


IIRC it was only for bedroom receptacles when it started. It switched to bedroom outlets later. Therefore my reference to portions of the circuit.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 10:55 PM   #7
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

AFCI circuit breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
IIRC it was only for bedroom receptacles when it started. It switched to bedroom outlets later. Therefore my reference to portions of the circuit.
you really are going to make me find my 99, aren't you.

210.12(b)

all branch circuits that supply 125-volt, single phase, 15- and 20-ampere receptacle outlets installed in the dwelling unit bedrooms shall be protected by an arc fault circuit interrupter(s). This requirement shall become effective January 1, 2002.

You win

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing new load center - do I have to buy AFCI breakers jerseyguy1996 Electrical 6 11-01-2010 09:29 PM
AFCI circuit breaker bryan1282 Electrical 14 02-11-2010 06:06 PM
AFCI breakers BlueBSH Electrical 3 01-09-2010 09:00 PM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 07:59 PM
Circuit Breakers Unregistered Electrical 4 09-13-2004 08:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.