Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-23-2012, 06:27 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

AF breaker stays tripped


I wired a duplex building with little assistance from a licensed electrician who would let me do it under his license.

Anyway, I wired two different circuits, one on each side of the duplex. Both circuits are for bedroom plugs which have about 13 receptacles on each circuit. I daisy chained 14-2 from the panel to the plugs and used a 15 amp arc fault breaker. These are two identical circuits, just in different units of the duplex. I got the power turned on to the building and everything worked except these two circuits so I think I must have done something wrong. Any ideAs what it could be? Why would the arc fault breaker stay tripped, is there a chance that a drywall screw may have hit the wire somewhere on both sides causing this?

Thanks in advance.

Cttagl02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 06:56 AM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

AF breaker stays tripped


How is the breaker wired? Did you put the neutral from the circuit to the breaker and the neutral from the breaker to the neutral bar?

Other than that, it could be

Bad breaker
Bad wiring (screw thru romex, bad splice, bad backstab)
Something plugged into the circuit that has a fault.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 07:02 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Default

AF breaker stays tripped


Yes the neutral from the circuit goes to breaker and neutral on breaker goes to neutral bar.
Cttagl02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 08:25 AM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,714
Default

AF breaker stays tripped


If the breaker is tripping, and not able to be reset, then you have a short somewhere.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 09:45 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Default

AF breaker stays tripped


Which could be anything from bad splice or connection, or maybe a screw or nail is making contact with a hot or neutral wire?
Cttagl02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 09:47 AM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,714
Default

AF breaker stays tripped


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cttagl02 View Post
Which could be anything from bad splice or connection, or maybe a screw or nail is making contact with a hot or neutral wire?
Are you asking us, or telling yourself what it could be.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 09:49 AM   #7
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,078
Default

AF breaker stays tripped


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cttagl02
Which could be anything from bad splice or connection, or maybe a screw or nail is making contact with a hot or neutral wire?
All or any one of the above.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 11:20 AM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

AF breaker stays tripped


Also, attaching the neutral from the new circuit to a neutral from another circuit can cause the tripping of the arc fault breaker.

__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jrclen For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (09-23-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Room loses electrical, circuit breaker not tripped Wnt2bsleepin Electrical 11 09-07-2011 05:47 PM
Lost all power and breaker not tripped avro1 Electrical 18 02-24-2011 07:57 PM
Tripped breaker installing new light switch? tylermac Electrical 3 02-05-2011 04:57 PM
Breaker tripped after power outage. What's up? Leah Frances Electrical 14 02-12-2009 06:56 PM
Breaker tripped and won"t reset princessme Electrical 8 01-19-2009 07:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.