Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-03-2005, 08:35 PM   #1
Ward vs. Gatti Trilogy
 
boxer1-2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Deepest Pits of Hell
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Advice/Tips on running down walls


I need any advice or tips on running an ethernet cable from an attic to a first floor through the walls. This to me seems the most simplest way rather than trying to find the right spot to drill to get to the 2nd floor then the next right spot to get to the 1st floor all in positions that arent noticeable. I also however realize that insulation is an electricians nightmare. Does anyone have any tricks they could share before I undertake this task.

Thanks for any advice or tips!

Sean Kibler

boxer1-2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2005, 08:47 PM   #2
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,299
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Advice/Tips on running down walls


Your going to have to find a way to drill from the second to the first floor, unless you have a 9 foot drill bit:D . I usually try to go for a closet on the second floor, cut an access panel out of the back of the closet to drill on down. Then it's just a matter of fishing the wires from the attic into the closet and then from the closet down to the hole (or box or whatever)for the wire's final resting place. Insulation won't be a problem if you can stay on an interior wall, but keep in mind some bathrooms are insulated all around, so try to steer clear of that also.

Side note: There's no chance of coming up from the basement 'eh??

jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2005, 11:38 AM   #3
Ward vs. Gatti Trilogy
 
boxer1-2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Deepest Pits of Hell
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Advice/Tips on running down walls


Side note: There's no chance of coming up from the basement 'eh??[/quote]

No, there is no option for the basement, Im wiring a computer from the attic all he way to the 1st floor. I am just considering it actually against buying a better wireless card. I am just getting into carpentry so I dont know too much about the framework of my house plus its old anyway. I was hoping I could avoid alot of drilling but it sounds like what I had in mind isnt going to work. We have split up alot of phone lines though so maybe I can use those to get at least from the 2nd floor to the 1st floor and cut out most of the problem. Thanks for the advice too I wont have to deal with the bathroom and that is nice to keep in mind thanks for the info.

Sean
boxer1-2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drain Pipes, Walls and Studs mattaparity Plumbing 2 12-18-2011 07:22 AM
Looking for a step by step for framing basement walls/2x4's wrong direction/stairs??? xray328 Remodeling 27 06-19-2011 08:50 PM
bowing walls - repair? elementx440 Building & Construction 26 03-04-2009 03:07 PM
painting a room w/ both drywall and plaster walls J187 Painting 7 06-19-2006 05:33 PM
Running Conduit in new basement framed walls tben Electrical 3 12-10-2004 11:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.