Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2010, 07:40 PM   #1
Do it right.
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Amesbury, MA
Posts: 78
Share |
Default

advice on potential generator hook up


I live in a "duplex" (more like basement converted to apt.) and I have 2 service panels, I just replaced both boxes so I could use the mechanical interlocks I bought from Square D, my question is, is this a logical way to divide generator power to both boxes....

Run wire in conduit from an outside location to a sub panel that will distribute power to (2) double pole 30A breakers that will run to their respective box and connect to the double poles occupying slots 2 and 4 of each box.


opinions appreciated

SubSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 09:10 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,352
Default

advice on potential generator hook up


Yup. AS long as those mechanical interlocking mechanisms are properly installed.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 09:29 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

advice on potential generator hook up


Oui., I have done that before and make sure you mark down the circuits as well due you will move at least two circuits around.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 06:15 AM   #4
Do it right.
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Amesbury, MA
Posts: 78
Default

advice on potential generator hook up


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Oui., I have done that before and make sure you mark down the circuits as well due you will move at least two circuits around.

Merci.
Marc
My box was never labeled to begin with, figuring out the circuits is on my list of things to do
SubSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drywall ceiling: Water Damage, looking for advice dawho1 Building & Construction 11 09-13-2010 10:05 AM
looking for Serious advice and Help on Insulation bfan781 Building & Construction 6 05-19-2010 11:02 AM
DIY Advice Seeker - late 1970 seventies knockdown texture onegative Drywall & Plaster 1 04-22-2010 08:40 AM
voltage potential around in-ground pool logi98 Electrical 20 07-05-2009 08:08 PM
Electrical Advice Caution!!! Mike Swearingen Electrical 12 03-05-2008 11:51 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.