Advice Needed For Basement Wiring - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-04-2010, 04:18 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Advice needed for Basement Wiring

Hi Everyone,

So I have put together a diagram for wiring my basement (leaving out AV/cable/phone, which I will worry about afterward). I have never done any wiring before so I am hoping to get some advice/feedback. I apologize in advance if my terminology is a bit off - still learning!

There are 7 circuits in total, I will briefly describe each:

Blue - 1 switch for 4 potlights, 4 double outlets which will be used for computer/office equipment, and possibly a treadmill in the future.

Pink - 4 double outlets for TV/Video/Video Game/Stereo/Lamps - is this reasonable?

Orange - 1 dedicated outlet for the keg fridge mounted inside the bar

Green - 1 switch in lounge, plus 1 light fixture and 1 double outlet PLUS 1 double outlet in bathroom (with circuit breaker), a fan, and a potlight all linked to a 3-button switch

Red - 1 dedicated outlet for the sauna

Purple - 5 potlights and 1 other light on a triple switch, 3 double outlets, and another switch at the top of the stairs connect to the first 3 potlights

Brown - 3 double outlets and 2 overhead lights connected to a switch

I am hoping for some advice on how I have this set up, and also if you think I am putting too much on 1 circuit. I'm not positive I have 7 spots open on my box either - it might only be 6, so any advice on things I can combine would also be appreciated

Thanks in advance everyone!
Attached Images

Advertisement

hazey313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 04:24 PM   #2
Licensed electrician

Rewards Points: 2,912

Without knowing your location it makes it hard to quote the appropriate codes.