Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-31-2007, 10:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

advice Need!!100 amp from panel to disconnect


I need some advice on an electrical issue as soon as possible.

I am working on a project and normally I have my electrician do my projects but he is unable to help me.

I need to take 100 amp breaker from the main panel(200amp) to a disconnect switch which is a 100 amp 3-phase.

I need to know what wire size i need and how to wire from the panel to the disconnect.

Thank you for any help!!!

rmkuenkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 12:09 AM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,875
Default

advice Need!!100 amp from panel to disconnect


Your question is really beyond what would be advisable in a diy format. I would only recommend advice to a diy if the main panel is 208Y120 three phase. What do you have?

Stubbie

Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 05:44 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

advice Need!!100 amp from panel to disconnect


IMO ANY 3-phase is out of the scope of DIY work. Besides, this is NOT DIY work, this is commercial. It is highly possible that you cannot even do the work legally. Does your liability insurance and workman's comp cover electrical work? I doubt it.

Find another electrician to do the work!
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 11:48 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

advice Need!!100 amp from panel to disconnect


I agree with the others about the 3 phase to a point. It is no more dangerous than single phase. Also, everything is pretty much the same as far as installation.

1) Use # 3 copper wire for the three hots (phases) and the neutral.
2) Use # 8 " for the ground. Must be green for the complete length.
4) 5 wires total.

Now, how could anyone tell you how to "wire this "
You haven't provided any information that would enable someone to help you in this format.

If your electrician cannot help you. Go find another one.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 12:50 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

advice Need!!100 amp from panel to disconnect


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
I agree with the others about the 3 phase to a point. It is no more dangerous than single phase.
It is actually 50% more dangerous to the untrained person. There is one more big hot wire that can bite you.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 01:17 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

advice Need!!100 amp from panel to disconnect


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
It is actually 50% more dangerous to the untrained person. There is one more big hot wire that can bite you.
I guess you have a point
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 05:39 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Default

advice Need!!100 amp from panel to disconnect


Hello, My name Is Jon Brewer and I am basically doing the same thing I have a 200 amp service running out to my shop and I am installing a Rotary Phase Converter.(To create my 3rd leg) The instructions tell me exactly what size wire and breaker to use.however, the wire and breaker size is determined by the amp draw of the unit or machine that you are installing. If you would like you can email me and we can share a bit of info since I have the code specs. I need to know where you got the disconnect so I can add one to my project. My email is apm08@netzero.net and I will be glad to give you the info.
Thanks, Jon.

apmjbrewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 05:55 AM
breaker panel question chadvavra Electrical 11 08-10-2007 09:20 AM
advice on installing equipment grounding bar in main panel pacifier1er Electrical 5 05-29-2007 05:55 PM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 05:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.