Adjustable Fan/Light Switch - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2012, 09:23 AM   #16
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Adjustable Fan/Light Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by cooper4x4

There's only this one switch that controls the fan/light currently installed. There are no other switches in this room or that control this fan/light. These aren't the original switches to the house (originals were more of an almond color). Could it be that the previous owner replaced the switch with the wrong one?

Newb question, but how do you tell if it's a three-way switch?
A single pole will have "on" and "off" one the toggle. A 3 way won't.

Advertisement

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 10:06 AM   #17
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Adjustable Fan/Light Switch


That is a picture of a single pole switch. The red is around the screw, and the blacks are backstabbed.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 08:48 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Adjustable Fan/Light Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by cooper4x4 View Post
I will be installing a new fan so I'll be in the ceiling box tomorrow. Although pricey, I'm leaning towards this switch from the link posted by Jim Port above:



Thanks for the help!
I ended up ordering this switch and got around to installing it tonight. Unfortunately, there's not enough room in the box to install the new switch with all of the wiring. Any suggestions to make it work? The switch is great and I'd love to use it.
cooper4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 09:09 PM   #19
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,053
Rewards Points: 2,904
Default

Adjustable Fan/Light Switch


You could change the box out for a deeper box or change to a 4 square box with a plaster ring.

How many cables are in the box now? Is the box plastic? How many cubic inches?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 09:31 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Adjustable Fan/Light Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
You could change the box out for a deeper box or change to a 4 square box with a plaster ring.

How many cables are in the box now? Is the box plastic? How many cubic inches?
Approx 19.25 cubic inches. I saw three 14-2 cables. Box is not metal so I'm guessing plastic.
cooper4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 09:36 PM   #21
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,053
Rewards Points: 2,904
Default

Adjustable Fan/Light Switch


Three 14-2 cables is 6 + 1 for the ground + 2 for the switch for a total of 9. 9*2 = 18 cubic inch capacity minimum.

You may need to dress the conductors to make this fit. Maybe a pic would help us see what you are dealing with.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 09:53 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Adjustable Fan/Light Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Three 14-2 cables is 6 + 1 for the ground + 2 for the switch for a total of 9. 9*2 = 18 cubic inch capacity minimum.

You may need to dress the conductors to make this fit. Maybe a pic would help us see what you are dealing with.
The main issue is the depth of the new switch. With a box depth of only 2.75", there's not much room for wire. I'll guess i'll try the deeper box.


Advertisement

cooper4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
confused on switch replacement fullpint Electrical 6 07-11-2011 09:39 AM
Bathroom exhaust fan/light timer switch zephed666 Electrical 7 04-29-2011 12:25 PM
Wiring for ceiling fan/light with dual switch at end mcherno925 Electrical 26 10-22-2010 12:41 PM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 08:11 AM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 07:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts