Adding Track Light To Single-pole Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2012, 12:32 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Adding track light to single-pole switch


I removed a flourescent light that turned on and off by a pull string.
I am replacing it with a track light and I want to use a single-pole switch to turn it on and off.

Look at the image. Notice how there are two separate NM cables.



How should I connect these to the track light wires?

I think I need to place a junction box (to the right of the track light) that will connect the wire for the single pole switch.
Is that correct?

The switch will go against the wall in this image:



Thanks for the help!
DK

Advertisement

n2learning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 12:42 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Adding track light to single-pole switch


Yes correct you will need a junction box. In addition you will need a neutral at the switch box if your on 2011 nec, and I would therefore run a xx-3 to the switch.

Advertisement

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 12:49 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 219
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Adding track light to single-pole switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
Yes correct you will need a junction box. In addition you will need a neutral at the switch box if your on 2011 nec, and I would therefore run a xx-3 to the switch.

Out of curiousity why is this a requirement, and what would you do with the neutral at the switch? Are you not allowed to use 14-2 and just re-code the white wire as hot?
psilva8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 12:54 PM   #4
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Adding track light to single-pole switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by psilva8

Out of curiousity why is this a requirement, and what would you do with the neutral at the switch? Are you not allowed to use 14-2 and just re-code the white wire as hot?
2011 nec you would have to ask them. As to what you would do with it? nothing the neutral it would just chill in the back of the box unless at some point you use it. Re coloring the wire isn't an issue
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 12:56 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,033
Rewards Points: 2,864
Default

Adding track light to single-pole switch


The 2011 NEC requires a neutral at the switch whether it is needed at the current time or not. This will allow smart switches and timers in the future to be installed without needing to improperly use the grounding conductor as a neutral.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:08 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Adding track light to single-pole switch


As far as connecting to the track light. Do I need to connect both white wires from the 14-2 cables to the white wire on the track light?
And do the same for the black and ground?
n2learning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:12 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,033
Rewards Points: 2,864
Default

Adding track light to single-pole switch


If you made those connections the light would stay on all the time.

Where are you adding the switch wiring?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:16 PM   #8
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Adding track light to single-pole switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by n2learning
As far as connecting to the track light. Do I need to connect both white wires from the 14-2 cables to the white wire on the track light?
And do the same for the black and ground?
There look like 12awg so all wiring would need to be 12awg
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:18 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Adding track light to single-pole switch


The switch wiring is not in the image.

Should the switch wiring also connect to the track light with one of the existing 14-2 cables?

If that's the case, then I have an existing 14-2 cable that I can simply plug off.

I apologize for being such a newbie.
n2learning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:37 PM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,033
Rewards Points: 2,864
Default

Adding track light to single-pole switch


I think what you have is a power in cable and a power out cable continuing to another part of the circuit.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:41 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 219
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Adding track light to single-pole switch


Is there a ground wire in those cables?
psilva8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:46 PM   #12
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,033
Rewards Points: 2,864
Default

Adding track light to single-pole switch


Either the cable is older without a ground or some cut them off at the sheath.

If the cable are not grounded you would be prohibited from extending the circuit.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:53 PM   #13
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Adding track light to single-pole switch


Ok as others mentioned you must see what's with the ground

Here would be the wiring process

Running a 12-3 down to the switch at the switch
black to one screw red to the other.
Green screw to ground
neutral gets capped and left alone

At the junction all whites together
Two current blacks to black of 12-3
red to black of fixure
All grounds spliced
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:58 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 219
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Adding track light to single-pole switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Either the cable is older without a ground or some cut them off at the sheath.

If the cable are not grounded you would be prohibited from extending the circuit.

If at the sheath hopefully he can find some slack in those cables or maybe its easily to run new wire from previous junction.
psilva8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 03:00 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Adding track light to single-pole switch


See the attached image. Both of the larger white cables (i've referred to them as 14-2 but what do I know) each have a ground cable. I can also get more slack out of each of these cables.



I'm also holding up another yellow cable (which has a white, black, red, and ground wire inside). Can I use this cable to run back to the switch?

I appreciate the help by everyone.

Still a little confused on what to do with both of the larger white cables.

Advertisement

n2learning is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re-wire dual pole switch to single pole bujaman Electrical 3 05-31-2011 07:09 AM
single pole switch off of 4-way circuit itin1200 Electrical 3 10-23-2010 10:27 AM
Single Pole Switch, but 5 wires in wall and ceiling jmo1112 Electrical 4 10-11-2010 09:51 PM
Wiring a single pole switch with a pilot light gabriel246 Electrical 5 10-31-2009 07:03 PM
Adding a single pole switch to 3 way switch. adrien2 Electrical 6 05-28-2009 03:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts