Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-30-2007, 01:45 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 27
Default

Adding a switch to a constant power source


Hello,
I just moved into a new place and decided to change some things around a bit. I pulled the cabinet where I had a range hood down, but now I have MC cable coming out of the ceiling with the 2 power wires coming out of it. I want to add a fluorescent light (has it's own switch) in its place, because the power source is constant.

So now I just have a quick question about the wiring. What can I connect the ground wire for the fixture to? The cable?


Last edited by AngeloUCF; 01-05-2008 at 07:31 AM.
AngeloUCF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2007, 02:01 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Adding a switch to a constant power source


Could you crop those immages a bit? maybe a bit less wall would make the page readable again.

As for your question. Turn the switch off and use a voltage tester. The wire that tests hot while the switch is off goes to the panel.

__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2007, 02:56 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,149
Rewards Points: 514
Default

Adding a switch to a constant power source


Is it just me or does it look like the green wire is connected to the switch. If there is a ground on a switch it is usually on the opposite side of the hots. Can you tell us what is connected to the switch?
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2007, 04:43 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 27
Default

Adding a switch to a constant power source


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
Is it just me or does it look like the green wire is connected to the switch. If there is a ground on a switch it is usually on the opposite side of the hots. Can you tell us what is connected to the switch?
Yeah the pic is weird, but the ground is connected correctly on the opposite side of the switch.
AngeloUCF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2007, 07:49 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Adding a switch to a constant power source


I looks like your home was wired using type MC cable and metal boxes. Since it is rare to find electricians do this unless it is required by some code, I would say that you may need to keep using the same types of materials.

One option you have is to cut a box in where the constant hot wire comes out of the ceiling then run a switch loop down the wall. This is tricky to do without needing some wall board repair.

Another option is remote control switching. If you do this, be sure the remote switch is compatable with the lighting you choose. For this you would cut a box in the ceiling, as above and install a reciever. Next you would carefully cut the mud ring off the existing single gang box and replace it with a two gang cover. You then could install a transmitter in that box.


btw. thanks for croping the pic, and thanks for posting one in the first place. the visual makes giving accurate answers much easier.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2007, 09:37 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 27
Default

Adding a switch to a constant power source


Thanks for your help, jwhite. Although I thought the process would be a bit easier than you describe.

That switch in the picture controls the main kitchen light, and from what I can tell is in the middle of the circuit that ends with the range hood wires. Can I not just buy a dual single throw switch similar to this and break the circuit before the range hood wires to switch it while maintaining kitchen light functionality?
AngeloUCF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2007, 02:18 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Adding a switch to a constant power source


From what I can tell of your wiring the answer is know.

Based on your questions, I suggest you first purchase a good book on residential wiring, before you do any work yourself.

I know it is not rocket science, but even I did not know how to tie my shoes till someone showed me.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 07:32 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 27
Default

Adding a switch to a constant power source


Got a new question so I edited the original post.

AngeloUCF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Mystery power in complex 3-way! mnyman2003 Electrical 12 12-16-2007 01:10 PM
Wiring a switch, power from outlet Big Bill Electrical 4 09-15-2007 03:59 PM
adding 3-way switch to existing circuit msahaydak Electrical 4 02-18-2007 12:43 AM
Three electricans said it was impossible! Tom Electrical 35 04-29-2006 05:06 PM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 02:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.