Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-07-2013, 11:56 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Adding switch for ceiling fan/light.


Hello-

I have a hard wired ceiling fan and light combo that uses a pull chain for both. There is a gang box on the wall that has power running to it, but just no wire connecting to the ceiling fan.

I want to add a switch for the fan/light combo. I have been looking at the wireless switches but am unsure how they work. This one for example:

Lutron Maestro 1 Amp Multi-Location 7 Speed Combination Fan and Light Control - White-MA-LFQHW-WH at The Home Depot

Will this work for what I am trying to do? The instructions make it seem like you need a wire going from an existing switch to the fan/light.

Thanks!

safetybar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 12:02 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 164
Default

Adding switch for ceiling fan/light.


Quote:
Originally Posted by safetybar View Post
Hello-

I have a hard wired ceiling fan and light combo that uses a pull chain for both. There is a gang box on the wall that has power running to it, but just no wire connecting to the ceiling fan.

I want to add a switch for the fan/light combo. I have been looking at the wireless switches but am unsure how they work. This one for example:

Lutron Maestro 1 Amp Multi-Location 7 Speed Combination Fan and Light Control - White-MA-LFQHW-WH at The Home Depot

Will this work for what I am trying to do? The instructions make it seem like you need a wire going from an existing switch to the fan/light.
Thanks!
You will need to also purchase the canopy module this is the receiver for the remote switch.

__________________
RIP EJT
usair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 12:05 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Adding switch for ceiling fan/light.


Yes, it comes with the canopy module. I was just concerned because the instructions seem to make reference to an existing wire that should be connected from the fan to a switch, that I do not have.
safetybar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 12:55 PM   #4
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,490
Default

Adding switch for ceiling fan/light.


Most of the fan controls that look and mount like wall switches require wires. Even the "remotes" often switch one wire.

You may want to look at handheld remotes with a wall mount.
Here is an example.
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Hunter-Ce...6#.UdmrL22OkmM
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 12:58 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Adding switch for ceiling fan/light.


I do have power in the junction box, just no wire that connects to the fan. That is where I'm confused. Do these products require a direct wire connection to the fan or can the switch be powered and the fan be powered (with the canopy module) but not linked together.
safetybar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 01:52 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 164
Default

Adding switch for ceiling fan/light.


Quote:
Originally Posted by safetybar View Post
I do have power in the junction box, just no wire that connects to the fan. That is where I'm confused. Do these products require a direct wire connection to the fan or can the switch be powered and the fan be powered (with the canopy module) but not linked together.
As long as you have power to the canopy unit and the sending unit you should not need any interconnecting wire.
__________________
RIP EJT
usair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 02:06 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Adding switch for ceiling fan/light.


Thats what I thought, but I just called the Lutron and they said there needs to be a connecting wire. I can't seem to find a product that I can use. I just need a switch that will fit in a "decora" style housing and control the fan and light.
safetybar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 03:18 PM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Adding switch for ceiling fan/light.


Then look at this PDF they will show you the connection diagram how it should be working.

http://www.lutron.com/TechnicalDocum...ry/033102a.pdf

I have to dig up Engish verison due my system is in French

Hope that help your question you are looking for.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 04:27 PM   #9
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,490
Default

Adding switch for ceiling fan/light.


Quote:
I just need a switch that will fit in a "decora" style housing and control the fan and light.
No, you need a switch that will fit in a "decora" style housing and control the fan and light, without any wires going to the fan location.

I doubt that you will find it.

Give up on the idea of wiring the control into an unrelated location. If you don't know the load downstream of the location, you are liable to burn out the control. Most are only rated for a couple of amps.

A hand held remote will work for you. Mount it near the door.


Last edited by Oso954; 07-07-2013 at 04:30 PM.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a second switch mdenglund Electrical 13 02-20-2013 08:16 AM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
Adding a single-pole switch to 3-way switch rogermusa Electrical 6 04-08-2010 11:19 PM
3 way switch - adding in a switch jamiedolan Electrical 4 10-23-2008 11:35 AM
adding 3-way switch to existing circuit msahaydak Electrical 4 02-18-2007 12:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.