Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2012, 06:24 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 143
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Adding subpanel to Garage


First off, I believe NEC 2008 is in use in my area (Upstate, NY)

I purchased a house with an inground pool and attached Garage. The Pool pump/filter is located in the garage. There is a single receptacle for it with a switch located at the proper height above it.

Aside from that outlet, there are only two outlets in the garage. When I was tracing the wires to add additional outlets to the garage (24'x24' 2 car) I found that the rear wall outlet, pool pump, garage door opener, front outlet and low voltage path light transformer are also on this same circuit from what I can tell. This doesn't seem like a good idea to me.

I would like to Add a sub-panel inside the garage that will support the following circuits:

1) Pool pump
2) Garage door opener and LV Path lights
3) 20 amp outlet circuit - Tools and misc
4) 20 amp outlet circuit - Possibly 110V air compressor and/or welder
5) 40/50 amp circuit - Possible future addition of a hot tub.
6) 15 amp lighting circuit - Could put with Opener and path lights if necessary.

My questions are as follows:

1) Is a sub panel acceptable for the pool? Is it acceptable for use with the Hot Tub? I thought I read that there needed to be a direct connection to the panel in one of these situations.

2) What size wire and breaker should I use from the main panel? The distance is roughly 20-30 feet all inside from the basement into the garage.

3) Will a 100amp main breaker panel be acceptable in the garage as a subpanel? I have an Eaton 150 amp Main Breaker panel with Type BR breakers currently.

4) Does the wire need to be in Conduit from the main panel to the Subpanel? It will be in the Ceiling in the basement, and then in an open wall in the garage.

Thanks for any help you can provide. I will probably have more questions as I lay out my plans.

jimmyfloyd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 09:07 PM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,015
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Adding subpanel to Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyfloyd View Post
First off, I believe NEC 2008 is in use in my area (Upstate, NY)

I purchased a house with an inground pool and attached Garage. The Pool pump/filter is located in the garage. There is a single receptacle for it with a switch located at the proper height above it.

Aside from that outlet, there are only two outlets in the garage. When I was tracing the wires to add additional outlets to the garage (24'x24' 2 car) I found that the rear wall outlet, pool pump, garage door opener, front outlet and low voltage path light transformer are also on this same circuit from what I can tell. This doesn't seem like a good idea to me.

I would like to Add a sub-panel inside the garage that will support the following circuits:

1) Pool pump
2) Garage door opener and LV Path lights
3) 20 amp outlet circuit - Tools and misc
4) 20 amp outlet circuit - Possibly 110V air compressor and/or welder
5) 40/50 amp circuit - Possible future addition of a hot tub.
6) 15 amp lighting circuit - Could put with Opener and path lights if necessary.

My questions are as follows:

1) Is a sub panel acceptable for the pool? Is it acceptable for use with the Hot Tub? I thought I read that there needed to be a direct connection to the panel in one of these situations.

2) What size wire and breaker should I use from the main panel? The distance is roughly 20-30 feet all inside from the basement into the garage.

3) Will a 100amp main breaker panel be acceptable in the garage as a subpanel? I have an Eaton 150 amp Main Breaker panel with Type BR breakers currently.

4) Does the wire need to be in Conduit from the main panel to the Subpanel? It will be in the Ceiling in the basement, and then in an open wall in the garage.

Thanks for any help you can provide. I will probably have more questions as I lay out my plans.
Jim

There is a mountain of information that you need to go over to determine the answers to my our questions. A 100 amp sub-panel should be fine to accomodate the number of circuits you want. It does however look like you have a 150 amp service so you need to be diligent of your total load on that service. A dwelling demand load calculation might be prudent in your situation.

There are pages of code requirements that you need to be aware of to make the changes you are wanting and to make sure the present pool installation is code compliant. I am assuming a home inspector looked things over before you purchased but not all HI's do inspections of inground pools adequately.

The sub-panel you want will require that the feeder from the main panel be installed in conduit since it will be supplying a sub-panel providing branch circuits for pool equipment. That information is covered in the articles you can view at the link below. You will have more questions I'm sure.

http://www.mikeholt.com/newsletters....y&letterID=802

Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 09:22 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 143
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding subpanel to Garage


Just checked, and while my panel has a 150 main breaker, I have a service disconnect that is only 100amp. A call to the utility confirms this is the correct service value. Looks like this project is on hold until I do some load calculations.
jimmyfloyd is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a subpanel in the garage pick1e Electrical 3 02-17-2012 07:38 PM
Adding Circuits to attached garage john8791 Electrical 1 02-10-2011 01:55 AM
correct garage subpanel wiring lawsklsux Electrical 14 11-14-2010 10:54 PM
Have questions about adding a 60amp subpanel humberguy Electrical 6 05-13-2010 07:57 AM
Yet another garage subpanel thread (w/ pictures!) MattOverMinder Electrical 9 07-25-2008 02:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.