Adding Subpanel For Basement - Few Questions - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2010, 08:08 PM   #16
A Dangerous Tinkerer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Adding Subpanel for Basement - Few Questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Pics not showing......?
Yeah, went down to get new ones.. the first set were awkward angles. (More so than current ones.)

Advertisement

mindle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 08:13 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Adding Subpanel for Basement - Few Questions


Location C I think would be best for storage
Best not to have it under the stairs where Stuff is likely to be stacked
I thought you would be running the wire over the garage doors IN the garage ?
But thru the attic is fine - better as long as it has proper ventilation
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 08:25 PM   #18
A Dangerous Tinkerer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Adding Subpanel for Basement - Few Questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
I thought you would be running the wire over the garage doors IN the garage?
I can do either/or to be honest. I don't mind climbing into the attic. Just trying to make sure things are done as best as I can, adhering to code where applicable. Didn't know if the wire choice would require through conduit, or could be run straight through the attic. The drop down from the second floor to the boards above the garage (attic side) is about 12'.

I'm actually thinking it would be best to just build a wall and put the panel in (or around) the original "A" location. Would require a little extra cable in the basement side, but its probably the best location to have it installed properly but also hidden from the 'finished' area. Thoughts?
mindle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 08:29 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Adding Subpanel for Basement - Few Questions


Location A would work since you say not finished area
I wasn't sure if that area would be finished
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 08:32 PM   #20
A Dangerous Tinkerer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Adding Subpanel for Basement - Few Questions


I was planning to leave it unfinished. Right now its where I keep some boxes and a lot of my workout equipment. I'll snap a pic of the whole area here in a few to give you a better idea. Would it be a better idea to build a wall in that unfinished area and install the sub there, and ultimately finish off that wall. (Thinking a) to cover the cables and make them less accessible to people and b) any requirements they are behind finished walls?)

BTW, thanks for the input SD.
mindle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 08:37 PM   #21
A Dangerous Tinkerer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Adding Subpanel for Basement - Few Questions


Here's the unfinished (and was planning to stay that way) location "A". Ideally I'd like to put it anywhere in the black box.
Attached Thumbnails
Adding Subpanel for Basement - Few Questions-img_0647.jpg  
mindle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 08:58 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Adding Subpanel for Basement - Few Questions


I would keep it down the end away from the drain lines
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 10:41 PM   #23
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Adding Subpanel for Basement - Few Questions


110.26
Spaces About Electrical Equipment. Sufficient
access and working space shall be provided and maintained
about all electrical equipment to permit ready and safe operation

and maintenance of such equipment.
(E) Headroom.
The minimum headroom of working spaces
about service equipment, switchboards, panelboards, or motor
control centers shall be 2.0 m
(6.1/2 ft). Where the electrical
equipment exceeds 2.0 m
(6.1/2 ft) in height, the minimum

headroom shall not be less than the height of the equipment.
(a)
Dedicated Electrical Space. The space equal to the
width and depth of the equipment and extending from the
floor to a height of
1.8 m (6 ft) above the equipment or to
the structural ceiling, whichever is lower, shall be dedicated
to the electrical installation. No piping, ducts, leak protection
apparatus, or other equipment foreign to the electrical

installation shall be located in this zone.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 10:46 PM   #24
A Dangerous Tinkerer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Adding Subpanel for Basement - Few Questions


Thank you very much codeone.
mindle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 12:11 AM   #25
Master sparky
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding Subpanel for Basement - Few Questions


The size of your feeder panel over current protection and wiring should be determined by the load on that panel. Lets just assume that with all calculations (including your hot tub) 100 amps is sufficient. The hot tub can be fed from your feeder panel (sub panel) with no problems. The integrity of the feeder panel is the same as your main panel for all intents and purposes.

Location of the panel ultimately should be were it is most convenient to you and to repeat one poster not in a closet and where you can maintain your clearances without obstruction (more clarification as needed). I would recommend that if possible you find a spot where you can keep your feeder runs as short as possible (less costly for wire).

Feeder size for panel is a #3 whatever copper (SER, romex, THHN in conduit). I do not like aluminum, I'm old school. The panel must be treated as a branch circuit and not a service so #4 copper will not fly. Aluminum is cheaper, but in my opinion more maintenance. Your house, do it right.

Last edited by texelect; 01-07-2010 at 12:14 AM. Reason: mis spelling
texelect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 04:05 AM   #26
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Adding Subpanel for Basement - Few Questions


CJ:

You can not mount the sub-panel below the ductwork, as the Code requires dedicated open space below structural ceiling, or 6 feet above the panel whichever is less. Read section 110.26(F)(1) of the Code. If you build a new wall in front of the ducts, which is clear of the ductwork to the structural ceiling, then this would be acceptable.

You indicated you are located in Delaware. Homeowners are prohibited from installing any wiring associated with swimming pools or hot tubs in Delaware.

Click here for Chapter 14 of title 24 and read the first sub-section concerning the issuance of homeowner's permits.

If you still choose to do this job yourself, you will also need to apply for electrical inspection of the work after obtaining the homeowner's permit.

Judging by those pictures, I would guess that you are located in central or northern Delaware, as there are not many houses in lower Sussex with basements such as you have.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 04:16 AM   #27
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Adding Subpanel for Basement - Few Questions


I would also consider installing your sub-panel conduit outside. You could easily poke thru the outside wall in back of the main panel using an LB, dig a trench around the foundation of the house to anywhere adjacent to the basement, then poke back thru with another LB.

From there, it would be easy to locate the sub-panel virtually anywhere in the unfinished basement.

I've done this type of installation dozens of times.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:48 AM   #28
A Dangerous Tinkerer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Adding Subpanel for Basement - Few Questions


Okay, when I get home I'll snap a picture of the end of the ductwork runs. It doesn't go all the way to the end of that long wall, so perhaps in that corner is the best location for it.

As far as the hot tub, thanks very much for the heads up. Luckily, I'm only planning ahead and can't afford the hot tub yet. If I could, I would hire an electrician.
mindle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:49 AM   #29
A Dangerous Tinkerer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Adding Subpanel for Basement - Few Questions


Given it appears I'll now be putting the sub in the area I previously thought to leave unfinished, maybe I'll just go ahead and finish that area off as well. Hrmm...

Advertisement

mindle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a subpanel to a sub-panel and other questions CardinalPilot Electrical 14 03-30-2011 03:23 PM
A few slightly different questions on subpanel wiring. Chris Dopp Electrical 8 06-26-2009 10:45 PM
Adding a subpanel BimmerRacer Electrical 20 04-01-2009 09:30 PM
Adding a subpanel (lots of questions) epeterson777 Electrical 20 02-15-2009 09:55 PM
Subpanel questions wease Electrical 1 12-07-2006 02:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts