Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-12-2009, 06:31 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Adding a sub panel and cleaning up this mess


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
6/3 with ground will work for 60 amp breaker. In the USA 6/3 NM-B is 55 amps but we have no 55 amp breaker so we are allowed on feeders to go to the next size up for the breaker which is 60 amps. In Canada you use NM-D 90 (I believe) so I'm not sure what your rules are there. But I'd breaker it as much as allowed. 50 works but 60 is better IMO just watch what loads you put over in that sub panel considering diversification.
Thanks Stubbie. I plan on keeping the heavy load stuff on the main panel, so it should never come close to the full 60 anyway, and the run should only be a couple feet too.

Anyone else here know the rules for Canada regarding wire size for 60amp feeder?

rovers1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 07:07 PM   #17
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding a sub panel and cleaning up this mess


Quote:
Originally Posted by rovers1973 View Post
Yes, I did check to make sure the mulitwire stuff landed on opposite buses. Guy before me wired them to seperate breakers instead of double poles, probably due to being to0 lazy to move stuff around when they added all those tandems etc. Would have been nice if they marked the stuff that shared neutals too. This will be fixed.
What I mean is, the red wire is NMD 90 Heatex, correct? There is no white neutral in that cable. How is this all setup?
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 07:53 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding a sub panel and cleaning up this mess


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
What I mean is, the red wire is NMD 90 Heatex, correct? There is no white neutral in that cable. How is this all setup?
All cables have a white neutral with them. The old stuff (from the 60's) is the paper sheathed stuff and says "ALCAN NMD-7 14/2 (or 14/3) COPPER". The orange vinyl stuff from the 70's says "GENERAL WIRE & CABLE 14/2 (or 14/3) VINYLEX TYPE NMD-7". The new stuff put in is all NMD90 cable. There are a lot of multiwire (14/3) circuits in there.
rovers1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 11:01 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding a sub panel and cleaning up this mess


Well, I got going on this whole thing yesterday and got a fair amount done (I think). Pulled everything out of the original panel and got a lot of the wiring rerouted through the joists etc. Started reinstalling the wiring and breakers last night. Got the fridges and heat and some lights back on anyway (and the TV haha.).

ps
I was VERY careful around those service lugs. Previous person had run the stove wire through the top of the panel down to the breakers.
Attached Thumbnails
Adding a sub panel and cleaning up this mess-panel-5-small.jpg   Adding a sub panel and cleaning up this mess-panel-6-small.jpg  
rovers1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 03:38 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding a sub panel and cleaning up this mess


Can anyone tell me if you're allowed to pigtail wire inside the panel to extend the length if needed?
rovers1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 05:02 PM   #21
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding a sub panel and cleaning up this mess


Quote:
Originally Posted by rovers1973 View Post
Can anyone tell me if you're allowed to pigtail wire inside the panel to extend the length if needed?
Yes (in the USA at least, probably the same there). You can get a remodel panel that has accommodation for shorter neutrals and grounds though if you need it.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 10:56 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding a sub panel and cleaning up this mess


Well, I got pretty much everything done with my sub and rearranged the original main panel. Just wondered what you guys thought and if you see anything I missed. I wouldn't have gotten this far without all the help from the people here.
Attached Thumbnails
Adding a sub panel and cleaning up this mess-panel-7-small.jpg   Adding a sub panel and cleaning up this mess-panel-8-small.jpg  
rovers1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 07:21 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding a sub panel and cleaning up this mess


Quote:
Originally Posted by rovers1973 View Post
Well, I got pretty much everything done with my sub and rearranged the original main panel. Just wondered what you guys thought and if you see anything I missed. I wouldn't have gotten this far without all the help from the people here.

Looks good. I like how good the new panel looks, making me want to clean my panels up. You still have the grounds on the old panel that need to be fixed up.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 08:35 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding a sub panel and cleaning up this mess


Thanks, I do still need to find a ground bar kit for that old panel although I can't see any holes where one can be installed. The screws in the side of the case are actually designed for ground wires. At least now there are only a couple on each one, unlike before.

Here is pic of the whole thing now.
Attached Thumbnails
Adding a sub panel and cleaning up this mess-panel-9-small.jpg  


Last edited by rovers1973; 02-19-2009 at 08:39 AM.
rovers1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mixing Mortar for Tuckpointing amakarevic Building & Construction 38 01-28-2009 07:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.