Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2013, 11:57 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding a Sub panel


We just moved and want to bring our hot tub to the new house (its staying at a friends). The new house has a 200 amp main panel but its full can we add a sub panel to the main power or do we need a breaker to the line for the sub? I'm guessing not but wanted to ask before I had an electrican come out
it looks like upgrading the main wouldn't be that bad its on a block wall with the wires behind a removable panel but if I dont have to upgrade the main I dont want to spend the extra cash

I'm in Florida if that helps
Thanks
Brad

tbirdsc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:21 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,827
Rewards Points: 2,452
Default

Adding a Sub panel


A demand load calculation needs to be done to see if your service can handle the new load.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 05:35 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding a Sub panel


Thanks for the reply
if you mean the load coming into the house I would assume it would (but would verify before doing anything) the house was built in 2005 and being in Florida a pool is always an option even after the home has started construction. This will most likely not be a DIY project I just wanted to get an idea of what will have to be done before I start calling people

If the load is fine for for the extra load can I add a sub box or would the main panel need to be upgraded.
tbirdsc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 05:51 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

Adding a Sub panel


If the calculations say you can add a tub, then a sub can be added.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (01-09-2013), tbirdsc (01-10-2013)
Old 01-10-2013, 08:04 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding a Sub panel


so the line to the sub panel doesnt need to have a breaker on it? I used to do car audio and we over fused everything so thats my way of thinking.
I dont plan on a long run to a sub it will be next to the main panel
tbirdsc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 08:17 AM   #6
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Adding a Sub panel


The circuit to feeding the subpanel has tobe protected by a breaker. The breaker size is determined by the wire size feeding the subpanel.
NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to NJMarine For This Useful Post:
tbirdsc (01-10-2013)
Old 01-10-2013, 08:18 AM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,827
Rewards Points: 2,452
Default

Adding a Sub panel


The feeder for the hot tub will need a two pole breaker in your panel to provide power to the tub. If you do not have space for the breaker you will need to add a subpanel.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 08:21 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding a Sub panel


Thanks that was really my original question since my main panel is full if the line coming into the house can handle the extra load my main panel needs to be changed for a larger one

thanks everyone

tbirdsc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Service Panel to 2 breaker panels - I can imagine you all rolling your eyes kalus Electrical 22 03-23-2012 03:09 AM
Garage Sub Panel Questions mscanlon01 Electrical 3 07-20-2011 11:03 AM
Adding a sub panel 250ft away from the main z-man99 Electrical 4 07-19-2009 02:56 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 11:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 04:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.