Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2009, 02:36 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Stillwater, Minnesota
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

adding some overhead lighting in the basement


I am planning to add some additional overhead incandescent lighting to two rooms in the basement. I have a sufficient quantity of 14-2 NM wire to complete the job. Both rooms are on the same circuit, protected with a 20 amp breaker. Is it safe for me to use this 14-2 wire for the additional wiring or should I get some 12-2 ?

minchu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 02:40 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,584
Rewards Points: 102
Default

adding some overhead lighting in the basement


You must use 12/2 on a 20 amp circuit. 14/2 is only good for 15 amp circuits.

joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 09:53 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,951
Rewards Points: 16
Default

adding some overhead lighting in the basement


Is there enough of the 14-2 wire and do you have an empty slot in your panel? You might want to consider the alternative of running a new 15 amp circuit particularly if you are quite decided on incandescent lighting.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 11:31 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

adding some overhead lighting in the basement


Change out the 20 amp breaker with a 15 amp and install your fixtures. Otherwise you will have to pull a new 12/2 circuit. The choice is yours.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 09:43 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 0
Default

adding some overhead lighting in the basement


if your existing wires are 12-2, then you should use 12-2. If you use 14-2 then as above statement, change the breaker to a 15 amp. I would use 12-2 and keep the 20 amp because someone down the road may replace the 15 with a 20 not knowing there is 15 amp rated wire on the circuit.
patriot1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lighting for low basement ceiling South Portlander Electrical 16 01-28-2012 06:25 AM
Overhead lighting Run to lights first then switches, 14/3 to both switches? twilightcall Electrical 4 07-10-2008 04:18 PM
Recessed Lighting In Basement Rifeman Remodeling 12 09-06-2007 01:26 PM
recessed lighting in basement DIY4EVER Electrical 6 06-29-2007 02:52 PM
adding a basement tub drain wibass Plumbing 2 06-09-2007 06:50 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.