Adding Some Overhead Lighting In The Basement - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2009, 02:36 PM   #1
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Stillwater, Minnesota
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10

adding some overhead lighting in the basement

I am planning to add some additional overhead incandescent lighting to two rooms in the basement. I have a sufficient quantity of 14-2 NM wire to complete the job. Both rooms are on the same circuit, protected with a 20 amp breaker. Is it safe for me to use this 14-2 wire for the additional wiring or should I get some 12-2 ?


minchu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 02:40 PM   #2
joed's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 11,794
Rewards Points: 10,380
Blog Entries: 11

You must use 12/2 on a 20 amp circuit. 14/2 is only good for 15 amp circuits.


joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 09:53 PM   #3
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,824
Rewards Points: 3,754

Is there enough of the 14-2 wire and do you have an empty slot in your panel? You might want to consider the alternative of running a new 15 amp circuit particularly if you are quite decided on incandescent lighting.
States can help recovery from hurricanes and tornadoes by not requiring due digence or prompt and timely correction of substandard conditions, and by providing continued liability insurance where companies drop homeowners.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 11:31 AM   #4
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,673
Rewards Points: 6

Change out the 20 amp breaker with a 15 amp and install your fixtures. Otherwise you will have to pull a new 12/2 circuit. The choice is yours.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 09:43 PM   #5
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10

if your existing wires are 12-2, then you should use 12-2. If you use 14-2 then as above statement, change the breaker to a 15 amp. I would use 12-2 and keep the 20 amp because someone down the road may replace the 15 with a 20 not knowing there is 15 amp rated wire on the circuit.
patriot1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lighting for low basement ceiling South Portlander Electrical 16 01-28-2012 06:25 AM
Overhead lighting Run to lights first then switches, 14/3 to both switches? twilightcall Electrical 4 07-10-2008 04:18 PM
Recessed Lighting In Basement Rifeman Remodeling 12 09-06-2007 01:26 PM
recessed lighting in basement DIY4EVER Electrical 6 06-29-2007 02:52 PM
adding a basement tub drain wibass Plumbing 2 06-09-2007 06:50 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1