Adding A Single Pole Switch To 3 Way Switch. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2009, 01:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding a single pole switch to 3 way switch.


Hi
I need to tap into the power at the first 3-way switch. I have a power supply at the switch but I donot have a neutral wire. See attachment. If I was to replace the cable from light to switch with a 3 wire cable and connect the wire as follows:


light white to power white and incoming white from the single pole switch

power black to 3-way switch red (instead of the white) and single pole switch

light black to the 3-way switch (same)

This is my first electrical project and would appreciate any advice. Thanks in advance for your help.
Thanks
Attached Images
 

Advertisement


Last edited by adrien2; 05-28-2009 at 01:16 PM.
adrien2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 01:25 PM   #2
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,546
Rewards Points: 2,072
Default

Adding a single pole switch to 3 way switch.


Your question is mis-stated, it appears to me that you are asking whether or not a 4-Way switch can be added to a 3-way circuit.

4-Way switches are 2 pole switches.
Normal On/Off switches are single pole SPST
while 3-Way switches are siingle pole SPDT

Please post a larger image schematic. I can't read it.

Here is a very recent similat Thread:
Help with 3way/4way and lights

Advertisement

__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery

Last edited by PaliBob; 05-28-2009 at 01:28 PM. Reason: added Thread
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 01:59 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding a single pole switch to 3 way switch.


This picture is what I have currently. I want to tap into the power source at the first 3way switch in a 4way switch circuit to power a new light. But I need a neutral to as well as a power source to connect to a single pole switch that will operate a seperate light. - thanks
adrien2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 02:01 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding a single pole switch to 3 way switch.


Sorry, I'm unable to attach a big picture. However, I was just trying to giving a general picture of my layout where the power feeds into the lights and the lights is connected to the first switch.

Last edited by adrien2; 05-28-2009 at 02:07 PM.
adrien2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 02:07 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Adding a single pole switch to 3 way switch.


If I read your OP correctly, it sounds like you have it all figured out. Only change I would make is, supply power from the source to the first switch box on the black wire, and return it to the light on the red wire. Also, make sure in this situation that you re-identify the white wire attached to the 3 way switch configuration as a hot wire with either a piece of tape or marker.

In that you will have a neutral white wire present in this switch box in addition to a white wire being used as a hot wire, i'd use a sharpie or permanent marker to identify several inches of that white wire either black, blue or red.

Permanent re-identification is actually required by code, but a lot of people just use electrical tape instead.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 02:11 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Adding a single pole switch to 3 way switch.


Quote:
Originally Posted by adrien2 View Post
Sorry, I'm unable to attach a big picture. However, I was just trying to giving a general picture of my layout where the power feeds into the lights and the lights is connected to the first switch.
Haha, I am able to read it/see it just fine. It's good to have the visual picture of the current layout, certaintly helps to understand what your are talking about better.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 03:44 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Adding a single pole switch to 3 way switch.


At the first switch box ...

New 3 wire cable white is neutral and does not connect to any switch terminal. Connect it to the white wire of the new cable going to the additional light fixture

New 3 wire cable black connects to common wire going on to the second switch box and also to new single pole switch.

New 3 wire cable red connects to common terminal of 3 way switch.

At the light box ...

New 3 wire cable white connects to light fixture white and incoming power cable white (all neutrals).

New 3 wire cable red connects to light fixture black.

New 3 wire cable black connects to power cable black only.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 7 09-13-2011 01:39 PM
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 9 05-02-2011 11:10 AM
single gang single pole switch on fan fabian Electrical 14 03-05-2009 02:11 AM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 08:59 PM
Anybody ever seen a 5A 250V single pole switch? jayp Electrical 5 08-04-2008 06:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts