Adding Second Light From A Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2010, 01:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

adding second light from a switch


I'm looking to add a second light from a switch. I currently have this layout. Power source > light > switch. So basically i want this layout. Power source > light > switch > light. The switch controlling both lights. I saw the diagram that was recently posted for two lights situated between the power source and the switch. (power > light > light > switch). I would like to avoid this layout if possible since the switch is going to be between the two lights, and would like to avoid having to replace the existing 2 wire cable.

Thanks..

Advertisement

agsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 01:28 AM   #2
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

adding second light from a switch


What wires do you have in your switchbox? If you only have 2 wires (probably black and white) you can't do it.

If you have 4 wires (2 blacks and 2 whites) (the whites could be behind the switch in a wirenut) then it's possible.

Advertisement

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 09:14 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,362
Rewards Points: 3,518
Blog Entries: 4
Default

adding second light from a switch


You need three wires between the first light and the swtich to make this work. You will probably need to change the cable between the switch and the light.

This drawing has three lights after the switch but it is the same. Just cut off the last two light for your situation.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
Lurlene (09-15-2010)
Old 09-10-2010, 01:01 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

adding second light from a switch


Thanks for the quick replies. It looks like i'll need to change the cables. Thanks for the diagram, a picture IS worth a thousand words.
agsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please Help! 3 way switches controling 2 light fxtures. HelloMotto Electrical 52 11-05-2014 05:28 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 02:24 AM
Adding a light to a 3-way switch Richo Electrical 3 04-05-2009 11:29 PM
Adding a light to an existing 3-way connection nthomp16 Electrical 2 07-21-2008 07:57 PM
adding an additional light to 2 3-way switches basement_guy Electrical 10 07-20-2008 10:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts