Adding Receptacle - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2010, 05:56 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 79
Default

adding receptacle


My basement lights are on a 15 amp breaker. I want to add a receptacle off of one of the lights that has 14/2 guage wire. What guage should I use for the receptacle?

Advertisement

hitmehhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 06:07 PM   #2
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 997
Rewards Points: 514
Default

adding receptacle


1/0




errrrrr wait, what? 14/2, but keep in mind if you come off the light, it will only be hot when the lights are turned on

Advertisement

jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 06:58 PM   #3
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 512
Default

adding receptacle


Unless you have pullchain only lights, like I do. Then you're good to go. But if they're on a switch, then yes, probably you'll end up with an outlet that only works when the switch is on.
McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 07:04 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

adding receptacle


Also depends if power was run to the light 1st...or the switch
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 07:43 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 79
Default

adding receptacle


Yes , it is off of a pullchain light. I'm done and it works fine.
hitmehhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a receptacle in the basement Bigplanz Electrical 1 11-11-2009 06:31 PM
Adding an outdoor receptacle Mr. Michael Electrical 4 04-14-2009 10:42 PM
Adding receptacle questions drtbk4ever Electrical 20 01-05-2009 04:30 PM
Adding a Hot Receptacle to a 3-Way Switch rtyui2 Electrical 11 11-21-2007 09:08 PM
Adding a receptacle to existing circuit dekohl Electrical 3 09-10-2007 02:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts