Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-06-2012, 10:28 AM   #1

Share |

adding plugs to hard wired light fixtures (exterior)

Here is my situation. My backyard has a couple of power outlets, 2 up on my deck and one out in the planter bed for landscape lighting.

I have access to a bunch of free wall mounted light fixtures, but they are hard wired, and do not have plugs.

I am a complete novice when it comes to electrical work, but is adding plugs to hardwired light fixtures a relatively doable project for a beginner? Are there any other safety measures to be concerned with since it is for outside?

Is this a type of project that can be done with some simple purchases from home depot?
I figure if i already have the fixtures, I would need:
-a plug and cord
-wire cutters or splitters?
-wire caps (or whatever they are called to connect the wires)
-maybe something protective since it is for exterior use

Am i way off? (wouldnt be surprised if i was)

Thanks!

marmkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 11:14 AM   #2
Bill Kearney

Yes, you're way off.

If it's not a fixture that came with a cord with a plug then you should not add one to it.

What you need to do is install them properly. Put a suitable box on the wall and run wiring to it. Not have loose cord running across the surface and into a plug. This could be done by using metal conduit. Run conduit from the existing outlet (if the circuit can support the added amount of wattage) and then along the wall to where you want the fixtures. Conduit comes in several lengths. You buy or rent a conduit bending tool to turn those straight lengths into curves or corners that best fit your needs.

Otherwise you'd drill a hole into the wall and wire it up from the inside.