Adding To A Plastic Switch Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2012, 03:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding to a plastic switch box


See picture.

I need to add a timer switch next to the existing light switch for a fan. I planned to just add another box to the right of the existing box. However, the existing one is plastic, thus, I can not detach just the right side of the existing box and tie in a new box.

I also don't want to replace the single switch with 2 switches in the same box. The fan timer switch has 6 different options on it; it take up a box by itself.

Is there a way to solve this without cutting into the wall above and below the existing switch to get to the nails that hold that existing box in place? Yes, I could mess up the wall this much, and then just add a 2 gang box, but I am trying to see if there is a 'less intrusive to the wall' alternative.

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Adding to a plastic switch box-bathroom-006-small.jpg  

Advertisement

jdjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 03:19 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,222
Rewards Points: 2,354
Default

Adding to a plastic switch box


Assuming the stud is on the left, cut the drywall to the right of the box enough to add a 2 gang box. Use a flat bar (or a large screwdriver) to pry the existing box away from the stud (1/4" is enough). Cut the nails with a saws-all or a hack saw blade.

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 03:35 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 513
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Adding to a plastic switch box


Or cut in a remodel box several inches away from the existing in the same stud bay and jump the conductors from the old to the new.
Evstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding new GFCI outlet to existing light switch idzrvit Electrical 15 11-20-2011 10:16 PM
can switch work for two different outlets? jlmran Electrical 8 02-10-2011 01:31 PM
fan/light switch buzzing mjlocat Electrical 4 05-23-2010 03:44 PM
HELP.. trouble adding light to single pole switch RickDel Electrical 13 09-09-2009 11:18 PM
adding 3-way switch to existing circuit msahaydak Electrical 4 02-18-2007 01:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts