Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2012, 11:33 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Share |
Default

Adding Phone Outlets and VOIP


Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelArs View Post
Depends on how long you plan to live there. Bare minimum would be Cat-5e, but most jobs these days I future proof with cat6 or 6a. Cat6 is around the same price as 5e and has much better performance. You don't want your wire to be your weakest link, unless you enjoy running wire.
Cat5e? Are you kidding? I just happenned to buy a roll of this. Ain't this for ethernet? Can I use the same for phone line also?

I don't care about investing in here, I'll stay here for the next 5 years and it's my little project, it's for practice. I wan't to wire the place the right way. ))

Olograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:34 PM   #17
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,003
Default

Adding Phone Outlets and VOIP


Cat5, 5E or 6 will work just fine. Cat6 has a slightly heavier wire gauge but Cat5 is still better than the old phone cord.

With that said.....I see potential problems.

Yes, you can run the phone line to multiple outlets....they are all in parallel....

However....'vintage phones'? Typically require a bit more power than the new stuff. And you have to make sure your CO (central office) will handle the phone line.

By vintage I'm assuming rotary dial....hence, off hook is a lower resistance and more voltage is required for the ringer. Depending on how the phone line is set up, they may or may not work.

Before you run a bunch of wire, I would hook one up and make sure it works. Have someone call you and make sure the ringer works. Make sure the CO detect rotary dial....etc
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
Olograph (09-10-2012)
Old 09-10-2012, 11:47 PM   #18
Insatiable Learner
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 152
Smile

Adding Phone Outlets and VOIP


Quote:
Originally Posted by Olograph View Post
Cat5e? Are you kidding?
For VOIP you'll get less bit errors with cat6 but 5e will still work in a pinch.

As ddawg16 mentioned, you'll first need to make sure you have enough voltage for those old ringers. If you have a cellphone then just call yourself and test to see if the ringer works on one phone.
AngelArs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 12:10 AM   #19
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,003
Default

Adding Phone Outlets and VOIP


Quote:
Originally Posted by Olograph View Post
Cat5e? Are you kidding? I just happenned to buy a roll of this. Ain't this for ethernet? Can I use the same for phone line also?

I don't care about investing in here, I'll stay here for the next 5 years and it's my little project, it's for practice. I wan't to wire the place the right way. ))
Yea....I know...seems a little 'strange'...but if you look at phone cord....it's just 2 wires....Cat5 or 6 has 8 wires.....and a better twist. The twist is what reduces the cross talk and prevents noise from being induced into the wires.

I won't bore you with terms like mutual inductance or common mode rejection...

Basically, Cat5/6 is the prefered wire to use now for running phone lines.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 12:37 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Default

Adding Phone Outlets and VOIP


I bought ftp shielded cat5e ; )

Quote:
By vintage I'm assuming rotary dial....hence, off hook is a lower resistance and more voltage is required for the ringer. Depending on how the phone line is set up, they may or may not work.
They'll all be tone dial. If I ever want to add a pulse dial phone, I'll figure something out (I really doubt I'll get there).

Quote:
However....'vintage phones'? Typically require a bit more power than the new stuff. And you have to make sure your CO (central office) will handle the phone line.
The SPA2102 offers 3 REN per lines. For now I have two phones, an old one 1.2 REN and a wireless set 0.1 REN. I think I'm good.

I'll give a try to everything before drilling holes everywhere.
Olograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 12:39 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Default

Adding Phone Outlets and VOIP


Quote:
I won't bore you with terms like mutual inductance or common mode rejection...
Please do, I did few years in electrical engineering class. I'd like to know more!
Olograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 12:50 AM   #22
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,003
Default

Adding Phone Outlets and VOIP


Quote:
Originally Posted by Olograph View Post
They'll all be tone dial. If I ever want to add a pulse dial phone, I'll figure something out (I really doubt I'll get there).
THAT is not a vintage phone....When I have time, I'll take a pic of my Vintage phone....brass rotary dial and all.....

Mutual Inductance....What happens when a change in current in one conductor 'induces' a voltage in another conductor (principle that makes transformers work)

Common Mode Rejection - The ability of a device to reject signals superimposed on both lines going to it....basically, when a phone wire is near an AC line, mutual inductance causes a voltage to be induced on both wires more or less of the same magnitude....the common mode rejection is the ability of the recieving device to ignore the 'common' voltages on both lines and just look at the actual signal....this is a common parameter of op amps.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 12:54 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Default

Adding Phone Outlets and VOIP


Ahah vintage or not, my phone's in wood, very old and genuine. Yours probably vintag-"ier".
Olograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 01:19 AM   #24
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,003
Default

Adding Phone Outlets and VOIP


Quote:
Originally Posted by Olograph View Post
Ahah vintage or not, my phone's in wood, very old and genuine. Yours probably vintag-"ier".
How about posting some pics for the rest of us to enjoy....love old stuff.....

I'm trying to find a source for the wire....the old cloth wound insulation type
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 01:40 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Default

Adding Phone Outlets and VOIP


Here you go, enjoy, feel free to post your pics!
Attached Thumbnails
Adding Phone Outlets and VOIP-76693_1725791749501_1236756_n.jpg  
Olograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 06:45 AM   #26
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

Adding Phone Outlets and VOIP


Quote:
Originally Posted by Olograph View Post
Here you go, enjoy, feel free to post your pics!
Thats a vintage style phone, still made today. Try a google search, there's a lot of them
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 12:22 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Default

Adding Phone Outlets and VOIP


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gac66610 View Post
Thats a vintage style phone, still made today. Try a google search, there's a lot of them

No need to do a carbon 14 analysis to know how old it is. The phone looks nice and by looking at the labels on it, you can tell this vintage reproduction dates of a few years back. The quality and feel is top notch.

I didn't want to insult your vintage phone, seems I hurt your feelings, I apologize. Seriously who the heck cares?

Here it is: Magnasonic TS 257, coudn't find anything on google, please enlighten me, oh master!

Last edited by Olograph; 09-11-2012 at 12:35 PM.
Olograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 03:37 PM   #28
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

Adding Phone Outlets and VOIP


Quote:
Originally Posted by Olograph View Post
No need to do a carbon 14 analysis to know how old it is. The phone looks nice and by looking at the labels on it, you can tell this vintage reproduction dates of a few years back. The quality and feel is top notch.

I didn't want to insult your vintage phone, seems I hurt your feelings, I apologize. Seriously who the heck cares?

Here it is: Magnasonic TS 257, coudn't find anything on google, please enlighten me, oh master!
Was not saying the phone didn't look nice, to me vintage is older than that.

Last time I checked, you don't work for me, only my employees call me 'master'

Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 03:44 PM   #29
Insatiable Learner
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 152
Smile

Adding Phone Outlets and VOIP


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gac66610 View Post
to me vintage is older than that.
I agree. Using that term was misleading. Glad everything got straightened out though
AngelArs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 05:23 PM   #30
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

Adding Phone Outlets and VOIP


Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelArs View Post
I agree. Using that term was misleading. Glad everything got straightened out though
Never anything to straighten out (IMO) just facts.

The only land line I have is for my fax machine.
This interweb thing goes through cable supplier.
Cell phone for everything else.

Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.