Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2013, 10:33 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 445
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Adding a phone jack


How do I connect actual land line phone wires. I want to add a few phone jacks. I will be using the new style jacks that you plug the phone into. All my phones are rotory. I also want to run a few night lights off the phone lines. These connections need to be 100 % as I do not have a cell phone. I was hoping to just tap into a line in the basement but I could come off the main outside.

paintdrying is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 10:37 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Adding a phone jack


Quote:
Originally Posted by paintdrying View Post
How do I connect actual land line phone wires. I want to add a few phone jacks. I will be using the new style jacks that you plug the phone into. All my phones are rotory. I also want to run a few night lights off the phone lines. These connections need to be 100 % as I do not have a cell phone. I was hoping to just tap into a line in the basement but I could come off the main outside.
Night lights on phone wire?

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 10:48 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

Adding a phone jack


Is this a really old post?
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
creeper (02-09-2013), paintdrying (02-09-2013)
Old 02-09-2013, 11:17 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,978
Rewards Points: 2,136
Default

Adding a phone jack


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Is this a really old post?
Well, the OP joined this forum in July 2012 so it's not a super-old post. What I'd like to know is where in the world is there still a phone company that accommodates rotary phones? And where can you even buy one?

To answer the OP's question, phone jacks are wired in parallel just like 120V outlets. They have four terminals, each with a different-colored wire. The bulk phone wire has the same four colors. Only two actually have to be connected, but I've always just connected all four rather than try to figure out which two to use.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 11:17 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 445
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Adding a phone jack


Ha, ha. I think I found what I need. Bigbox sells these gel filled connectors. The lights from a phone line is an old idea. http://www.gizmag.com/led-rj11-lamp/13289/
paintdrying is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 02:05 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Adding a phone jack


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
Well, the OP joined this forum in July 2012 so it's not a super-old post. What I'd like to know is where in the world is there still a phone company that accommodates rotary phones? And where can you even buy one?
I'll bet that every phone company in the US will support one. The POTS (plain old telephone service) that comes over a copper wire pair is a standard that was established when rotary phones were common. I have a rotary phone in my house. It's one of those pea-green Bell desk models, the same as they were 40 years ago (in fact it may be 40 years old) I have it just as a curiosity, but it plugs right into my land line and works fine. Kinda hard to press one for English, but other than that it's plug and play.
A Squared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 02:09 PM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,951
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default

Adding a phone jack


Quote:
Originally Posted by paintdrying View Post
How do I connect actual land line phone wires. I want to add a few phone jacks. I will be using the new style jacks that you plug the phone into. All my phones are rotory. I also want to run a few night lights off the phone lines. These connections need to be 100 % as I do not have a cell phone. I was hoping to just tap into a line in the basement but I could come off the main outside.
What are you referring to as night lights?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 05:31 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,978
Rewards Points: 2,136
Default

Adding a phone jack


Quote:
Originally Posted by A Squared View Post
I'll bet that every phone company in the US will support one.
Then you would lose that bet. My parents lived in California, and had the same wall-mounted rotary phone for over 40 years. More than ten years ago they had to replace it because the phone company updated their equipment and would no longer support rotary dialing. He complained about that until the day he died - waste of a perfectly good phone, he said. And he had trouble hearing the artificial bell ringer on the new one.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 05:37 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Adding a phone jack


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
Then you would lose that bet. My parents lived in California, and had the same wall-mounted rotary phone for over 40 years. More than ten years ago they had to replace it because the phone company updated their equipment and would no longer support rotary dialing. He complained about that until the day he died - waste of a perfectly good phone, he said. And he had trouble hearing the artificial bell ringer on the new one.
Interesting. Okay, how about this: I bet that the telephone utility I use in Anchorage Alaska will support a rotary phone.

Wanna take that bet?


Edit: Did a little reading on the subject and it would appear that most utilities will support rotary dialing, although obviously not all.

Last edited by A Squared; 02-09-2013 at 05:59 PM.
A Squared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 06:02 PM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,340
Rewards Points: 2,342
Default

Adding a phone jack


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Is this a really old post?
No, Paintdrying has been sniffing too many paint fumes again.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 06:09 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Adding a phone jack


well, to answer the question, I just completely re-did the phone wiring in my house. I brought new wire in from my service box to a punchdown block I installed in a central location. Then I ran wire from there to each jack location. I used Cat 5 cable, but mostly because that's what I had on hand. 4 wire telepone cable will work just fine and it will have the proper color coding.
A Squared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 06:15 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,978
Rewards Points: 2,136
Default

Adding a phone jack


Quote:
Originally Posted by A Squared View Post
Interesting. Okay, how about this: I bet that the telephone utility I use in Anchorage Alaska will support a rotary phone.

Wanna take that bet?.
No, not really. I'm sure you know what your local telco will support.

Beautiful state, by the way. Had the occasion a few years ago to spend some time at Eielson AFB.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 06:21 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Western Washington, U.S.A.
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Adding a phone jack


You can tap into the line in your basement if you want. Phone lines are low voltage so they are a little easier to DIY safely than other wiring. It sounds like you have a very old network installed currently, possibly with hard-wired phones (since you refer to plugs as "new")
For your purposes you can buy some of the old 4 wire phone cable and some 'jacks' with screw terminals. The terminals are almost always color coded to match the proper wire color.
There are lots of good tutorials with pictures available on the Internet and most of the "electrical wiring made easy" type books have a section on this as well.

As far as lights, I guess it's possible, but please buy lights designed for use with phone lines. Also, it should go without saying that you should not try to tie you phone line into a high voltage cable to get power for lights.
dftc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 06:22 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Adding a phone jack


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
No, not really.
Ahh, too bad. Thought I could pick up some easy cash that way.
A Squared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 11:23 PM   #15
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Adding a phone jack


Most areas I've seen still support rotary phones over regular lines, you just can't use them for those voice recording menus, which isn't entirely a bad thing, I hate those anyway.

Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change a Cat 5E jack from network to telephone Shahrum Electrical 32 08-19-2012 07:38 PM
Questions about phone jack wiring for Comcast cable homenewbie Electrical 23 09-02-2011 08:35 PM
New Phone Jack Install - Q & A 101 allen1466 Electrical 7 07-18-2007 12:46 AM
Installation of new phone jack alvanos Electrical 4 04-05-2006 07:12 PM
Adding a phone line to an older connect point cramsmith General DIY Discussions 3 11-23-2005 12:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.