Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-28-2012, 12:14 AM   #1

Share |

Adding overhead light from outlet

I have a dark spot in my master bedroom so I added an overhead ceiling light. On the one wall I have an outlet which had two sets of wires in each of the rear push pins (live going in, line to the next outlet going out). I ran a new wire down the wall and attached it to a new switch then from the switch to one set of available screws on the outlet for power.

Everything works as expected. The box didn't feel over crowded when putting the outlet back in either.

I was just curious if anything I did was unsafe in any way.

I used the same gauge wire as the outlet (14/2 w/ ground). It's a 15a circuit. The 3 sets of wires attached to the outlet is what made me question it.

Since the area is a pass-through to our master bathroom, I installed a motion switch so the light only stays on for 15 seconds once activated.

Last edited by adgjqetuo; 05-28-2012 at 12:19 AM.
adgjqetuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 01:30 AM   #2
JOATMON

I think as a general practice, it's not accepted practice to power lights and outlets on the same ckt.

And....most guys here will suggest that you not back stab the outlet...or what you call the push pins on the rear. Most guys prefer to use the screws.

If it was me....I would wire nut all 3 sets of wires along with a pigtail....the pigtail would then go to the outlet. That way you can stuff the bundle of wires in the back of the box and it's a whole lot easier to move the outlet without all those wires going to it. Additionally, you end up with a better connection to your other outlets.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 06:06 AM   #3