Adding Outlets For Top Of Wall Mounted Upper Kitchen Cabinet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2011, 10:37 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Adding outlets for top of wall mounted upper kitchen cabinet


Hi,
First part...
I want to run off an existing 15A circuit a new switch and four outlets to power ONLY 5 strings of rope lites for cabinet top lighting. These will be placed on the top of each cabinet bank and each outlet will be off the same switch.

If my math is correct, I have 1800W capacity.

Each string has 72 bulbs, each bulb is 0.25 watts. that makes each string 0.15A * 5 strings = 0.75A draw when all on.

The existing circuit only currently powers 4 60W light fixtures in the unfinished portion of my basement and a motion light on the back porch with two 90W floods.

So there is another 240W + 180W = 420w/120v = 3.5A
so if everything is on at the same time, I'm only at about 4.25A draw.

Does this sound ok?


Second part ....
I don't find anything in NEC that says this is not appropriate?
Again, these are 6 ft strings of rope light by Utilitech and will be affixed to
the top of wall mounted cabinets

Third part....
I plan to just wire these in parallel off a junction from the cellar underneath. (Junction -> switch -> outlet->outlet>outlet>outlet)

14/2 -> switch (BLK in, BLK out, tie WHT together, ground to switch) ->
-> 14/2 in from switchbox to first outlet, BLK/WHT in, BLK/WHT out to next outlet) -> 14/2 in to second outlet , BLK/WHT in, BLK,WHT out to next outlet) -> repeat for the next 2 outlets.

I want the entire outlet to be switched, so I am NOT removing ANY tabs.

Does this look ok?

Advertisement

tmorriss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 08:01 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,959
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

Adding outlets for top of wall mounted upper kitchen cabinet


Looks good!

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kitchen sink not centered. gmhut Plumbing 5 06-01-2010 12:44 PM
filler on kitchen cabinet timbo59 Carpentry 7 05-05-2010 09:19 AM
Kitchen Cabinet Toekick color cellophane Interior Decorating 3 10-29-2009 04:52 PM
Installing kitchen wall cabinets higher than spec recommendation? alexz General DIY Discussions 14 07-21-2008 12:32 AM
Trying to replace wall mounted light fixture jtm2300 Electrical 4 08-03-2007 10:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts