Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-14-2008, 10:06 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 805
Share |
Default

Adding outlets


I think my town uses BOCA code,have heard that term in the past. I have a typical old house blues,one outlet per room,,,doesnt work for "ME".

According to code,,how many outlets can you put on a circuit with 12-2 w/ground wire? How about a 14-2 w/g?? And breaker size for both??(NON bath or kitchen spaces)
4just1don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 10:08 AM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Adding outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by 4just1don View Post
I think my town uses BOCA code,have heard that term in the past. I have a typical old house blues,one outlet per room,,,doesnt work for "ME".

According to code,,how many outlets can you put on a circuit with 12-2 w/ground wire? How about a 14-2 w/g?? And breaker size for both??(NON bath or kitchen spaces)
You can have as many receptacles as you like on a circuit, I like to limit mine to around 200 hundred though,

14 awg is 15 amp breaker
12 awg is 20 amp breaker
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 11:19 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,028
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Adding outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
I like to limit mine to around 200 hundred though,
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 12:29 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,129
Default

Adding outlets


if you live in canada the max would be 12 outlets per circuit.
darren is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 12:49 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Adding outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
if you live in canada the max would be 12 outlets per circuit.
Same here if its commercial, but thats just a joke for residential.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding hot outlets to 3-way switch KJG67 Electrical 8 04-22-2008 11:53 AM
Adding outlets Big Bill Electrical 8 02-22-2008 08:49 PM
adding new outside outlets, lights etc walt1122 Electrical 8 08-23-2007 02:11 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM
Adding outlets behind bathroom vanity? Carwen Electrical 3 08-14-2005 09:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.