Adding Outlets - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2008, 11:06 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 855
Rewards Points: 526
Default

Adding outlets


I think my town uses BOCA code,have heard that term in the past. I have a typical old house blues,one outlet per room,,,doesnt work for "ME".

According to code,,how many outlets can you put on a circuit with 12-2 w/ground wire? How about a 14-2 w/g?? And breaker size for both??(NON bath or kitchen spaces)

Advertisement

4just1don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 11:08 AM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Adding outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by 4just1don View Post
I think my town uses BOCA code,have heard that term in the past. I have a typical old house blues,one outlet per room,,,doesnt work for "ME".

According to code,,how many outlets can you put on a circuit with 12-2 w/ground wire? How about a 14-2 w/g?? And breaker size for both??(NON bath or kitchen spaces)
You can have as many receptacles as you like on a circuit, I like to limit mine to around 200 hundred though,

14 awg is 15 amp breaker
12 awg is 20 amp breaker

Advertisement

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 12:19 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Adding outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
I like to limit mine to around 200 hundred though,
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 01:29 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Adding outlets


if you live in canada the max would be 12 outlets per circuit.
darren is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 01:49 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Adding outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
if you live in canada the max would be 12 outlets per circuit.
Same here if its commercial, but thats just a joke for residential.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding hot outlets to 3-way switch KJG67 Electrical 8 04-22-2008 12:53 PM
Adding outlets Big Bill Electrical 8 02-22-2008 09:49 PM
adding new outside outlets, lights etc walt1122 Electrical 8 08-23-2007 03:11 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 02:55 PM
Adding outlets behind bathroom vanity? Carwen Electrical 3 08-14-2005 10:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts