Adding Outlets - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-03-2011, 04:16 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Adding outlets

I'm new to home owning and even newer to electrical work. My basement has a few outlets, but not where I need them. I'm currently running a tv, game system, cable box and reciever off of a power strip that is plugged into a simple 9ft extension cord. I'm wondering what wire I need to add another plug and how to make sure I won't pop a fuse.

Cheers, New guy

Advertisement

jeff601307 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 04:26 PM   #2
Retired from the grind

Rewards Points: 2,508

Adding outlets

Post a floor plan, and picture of your current electric panel. Also, is this space finished or unfinished. You can use surge strips, and the longest that I would ever use is a 6 ft, 12 ft at the extreme, but only for temporary use.

Advertisement

Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 08:19 PM   #3

Adding outlets

I don't have an exact floor plan but this is the basic idea. The basement is half finished, half unfinished. I can directly access the back of the outlet currently holding the extension cord for all the devices and the space where I want to place another one. I hope the pictures help, and thanks for taking your time to help out a noobie
Attached Thumbnails
Adding outlets-imag0003.jpg   Adding outlets-basement-floor-plan.jpg  
Old 12-04-2011, 08:28 PM   #4
Retired from the grind

Adding outlets