Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-01-2008, 09:30 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 78
Share |
Default

Adding an outlet to a wall switch


I would like to add an outlet in a bathroom that has only a wall switch. Is this possible and how hard would it be to do?

Keyo77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 09:35 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Default

Adding an outlet to a wall switch


the answer will depend of if the circuit is feed at the wall switch or at the light.

Turn off the power, and open up the wall switch. Then tell us how many of what color wires you find in there. Please try to note which wire go into which cables as they leave the box. (meaning how they are grouped as they leave the box into the wall. )

__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 09:52 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 78
Default

Adding an outlet to a wall switch


Yikes. I removed the cover on the switchplate and the first thing I noticed is that the drywall is at least 1/2", maybe even 3/4" thick. That pretty much ends that project for me. I thought it would be simple to sawzall out a wider opening but I think I should have the job done professionally. Thanks for your help though.
Keyo77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 10:38 AM   #4
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Adding an outlet to a wall switch


Chicken!


Just kidding.

Andy
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 11:01 AM   #5
Oldguy
 
Rehabber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calif (the left coast)
Posts: 498
Default

Adding an outlet to a wall switch


Keyo, I applaud you for knowing your limits, (especially with electrical). Try to find an electrician that is willing to explain what he is doing and why so you can learn and may be able to tackle a future job
__________________
If you think you can, or if you think you can't, you're probably right.

ASE certified master auto tech, Retired.
Rehabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 11:20 AM   #6
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Adding an outlet to a wall switch


Rehab, I agree with all you said. I was just playing.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 11:22 PM   #7
Woodworker and Contractor
 
Kingfisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 224
Default

Adding an outlet to a wall switch


They make half switch/half rec for single boxes, but the box still needs to have power to it and not be just a switch leg. General rule omer then 6 wires coming in your good

Kingfisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a wall switch to a pull chain fixture abacuslearns Electrical 17 12-20-2011 06:02 PM
Help with outlet controlled by switch craigpall Electrical 2 05-18-2008 08:08 AM
changing a fixture to an outlet - keeping the switch aweshucks Electrical 4 12-27-2007 05:06 PM
Wiring a switch, power from outlet Big Bill Electrical 4 09-15-2007 03:59 PM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 02:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.