Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-01-2008, 09:43 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Adding an Outlet - Very Basic...


I've already done this twice now, so I hope what I've done is correct... This is to add outlets behind TVs that I've hung on the wall.

Both of the existing outlets I've used have had wires both coming in and going out. I've taken the two existing sets of wires from each and wire-nutted them together with a pigtail. Then I wire the pigtail back to one side of the outlet and my wire for the new outlet to the other side. (Obviously tying the new ground wire in with the exisiting ground wires...) Is this an acceptable way to do this? It seems like an awful lot of wires to try to stuff back inside the box, but I've been told it's OK...

jakerbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 10:19 AM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,134
Default

Adding an Outlet - Very Basic...


Sounds good to me. I would have pigtailed all the wires together and just had one going to the plug but that is my preference.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 10:53 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Adding an Outlet - Very Basic...


Thanks Darren.

A follow-up to this, though... might be a little off topic...

One of these installs was over a fireplace. The fireplace is just a big metal box with a metal cylinder chimney inside of a big cavity behind the wall. I cut a decent-sized hole in the wall over the fireplace to work in, and I was able to staple the new wire onto the same stud as the existing wire, but on the back (2") side of the stud. This puts the wire (securely) about 4-5" away from the metal fireplace box. Is it OK for the wire to be this close? Does the outside of that fireplace get very hot?

Bear in mind, the old wiring is just around the corner on the same stud, so it's still pretty close to the fireplace, but has the added advantage of kind of being "behind" the stud, whereas there's nothing between the new wire and the fireplace...
jakerbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 10:54 PM   #4
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 978
Default

Adding an Outlet - Very Basic...


if your going through the effort of pigtailing your wires out (which i believe you should always do) Just land them all under the wirenut and have one wire on your receptacle. That way when your connections on the oultet get old and fail. Only one plug will quit working
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Sequence on Adding a New Outlet kennykenny Electrical 9 06-09-2008 02:06 PM
Adding an outlet on a 240V circuit? Kjunk Electrical 6 05-31-2008 09:27 AM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 09:05 PM
Adding an electrical outlet box helpless handyman Electrical 14 07-06-2007 07:59 PM
Adding garage outlet Shane Electrical 1 02-23-2006 04:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.