Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-20-2011, 10:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
Share |
Default

Adding an outlet to a switched circuit?


I want to ad an outlet to a switched circuit in a master bedroom. Which wires typically do you pull from? I don't want the new outlet to be switched.
Thanks,
Jeff

bajajeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 11:02 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Adding an outlet to a switched circuit?


Use the wire that's hot all the time. Plug a lamp into the receptacle and find the switched and the un-switched wires.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
bajajeff (07-20-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switched Outlet Issue mjm Electrical 11 01-23-2011 07:41 AM
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 05:13 PM
Few questions about adding outlet in unfinished basement McSteve Electrical 14 02-21-2010 10:17 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Help Help richie02 Electrical 7 06-17-2008 08:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.