Adding Outlet Off Three-Way Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2013, 08:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding Outlet Off Three-Way Switch


Hi there, running into problems with my current project. I'm wondering if I can add my new outlet wire to this existing three way switch. Please find photos attached.

Thanks.




Advertisement

lebleu29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 12:34 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Adding Outlet Off Three-Way Switch


There are some issue tu will see it.,

First of all which side of three way circuit are you doing ? on supply side or load side but I feel that you are on load side.

Then genrally it much easier to just run a new cable to the load centre instead of mess around with switch box due some case you will not able use the recpectale.

I can tell this is a Canadian verison so the games can change a little.

( Note I did note your screen name is in French so if you want me to reply in French I can do that.)

Merci,
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 11:21 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,357
Rewards Points: 3,508
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Adding Outlet Off Three-Way Switch


It looks like you have a switch loop.
What I see is power coming in on the white and being fed to the second switch on the black. Travellers coming back as red and white. Then switched power going back to the light on the black.
There is no neutral wire to be used for the receptacle. Find another source of power for the receptacle.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
outlet , switch , three-way


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding Light Switch - Outlet - Light > Correct wiring ? westbank Electrical 4 09-15-2012 11:42 AM
Adding an outlet from a switch skdiy Electrical 18 01-15-2012 05:12 AM
Changing 2 way switch to control light, not outlet? andysam Electrical 0 05-30-2011 10:20 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 02:24 AM
Adding additional outlet. Pigtail four sets of wires? svanhess Electrical 5 07-12-2009 11:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts