Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-13-2012, 05:46 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Adding an Outlet in my Attic

I'm very new at this, so please be kind. I just got done adding an outlet in my garage attic - partly because it was so easy to tie into an existing junction box.

In the other part of my attic, I'm at a loss. Firstly, there are no junction boxes. I believe I am capable of adding one, but I have no idea which wires to splice. There is white and yellow romex running everywhere across the joists. Is all of it available to be spliced for power? Or if I'm thinking about this correctly, won't some of it (the ones running to fixtures) be dependent on a switch somewhere being turned on to make the power flow? Or are they hot all the time?

I can't tell what runs where, or what powers what. Any advice? Do they make some kind of device I can hold to a romex wire to see if its hot?

Thanks in advance for helping a DIY noob.

pittjosh81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 06:40 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by pittjosh81 View Post

won't some of it (the ones running to fixtures) be dependent on a switch somewhere being turned on to make the power flow?
You are correct. If you tie into a switch loop, one of the conductors will always be hot(the white conductor taped black at its ends below) but there may not be a neutral. Switch loop is the cable pointed to with the red arrow below.
Attached Thumbnails
Adding an Outlet in my Attic-one-20sp-20switch-20one-20lite-1-.jpg  

hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 06:50 PM   #3
JOATMON

Rewards Points: 138

White Romex is typically your 14/2 wire (15a) that is usually used for lights.
Yellow Romex is typically 12/2 wire and is used for your outlets.

You didn't say if you wanted it for lights or an outlet to power something.

If I may suggest....