Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-05-2009, 09:43 PM   #16
DIY'r
 
ScottR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hicksville, NY (Yes, it's an actual town).
Posts: 520
Share |
Default

adding outlet from light switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
I guess I didn't read that much. But in your pic, one switch is powering the other. What use is that? A pic from the OP would help alot.
That's what I'm saying... can't figure out the point at all.

Yeah, tad, if you're still around can you post a pic just to keep us from going nuts?

ScottR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 11:20 PM   #17
tad
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Default

adding outlet from light switch


Sorry couldn't post this sooner. Thanks again for the help.

I've got some pictures of the box before I moved anything... other than pulling the switches out so I could take 'em apart. Glad I took the pics.

In case it isn't clear: the switch on the left is #1. It had the red and white wires attached from the feed.
Switch #2 is on the right. It had the black wire directly from the feed and a short black between it and switch #1. That's it.
Attached Thumbnails
adding outlet from light switch-crazywires.jpg   adding outlet from light switch-crazywires2.jpg  
tad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 11:25 PM   #18
DIY'r
 
ScottR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hicksville, NY (Yes, it's an actual town).
Posts: 520
Default

adding outlet from light switch


That clears it up! The only downside is that InPhase had the correct diagram. That's why he gets paid the big bucks, and me not so much..

Seriously though, the black wire in the switch on the left is back stabbed, so it connects to the white wire. (That's not a good connection, BTW). The switch on the left is not a 3-way.

So white is hot and the black and red go to 2 lights. Unfortunately you have no neutral there, so you still can't tap a receptacle from that box.

Sorry for all the confusion!

PS - Need to ground those switches, and probably the box too.


Last edited by ScottR; 06-05-2009 at 11:35 PM.
ScottR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Replacing light switch in series wired home - help! kellykate Electrical 6 04-16-2009 06:37 PM
Adding Ceiling Light To Switch vboz5 Electrical 11 03-13-2009 11:09 PM
Adding Ceiling Light From Switched Outlet vboz5 General DIY Discussions 2 03-04-2009 12:53 PM
installing a light fixture on a switch controlled outlet Unregistered Electrical 1 02-24-2004 10:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.