Adding A Outlet To A Box With A Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2012, 03:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding a Outlet to a box with a switch


Hi!
I live in an older house and in the kitchen there is only one outlet. To make things easy I want to add an outlet right next to the light switch.

In the bow where the switch is there is one set of wires one wire is black and the other is white. How would i wire it so that I can have an out let that is always hot and the light still be operated by the switch?

Thanks

Advertisement

twmorga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 03:44 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Adding a Outlet to a box with a switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by twmorga
Hi!
I live in an older house and in the kitchen there is only one outlet. To make things easy I want to add an outlet right next to the light switch.

In the bow where the switch is there is one set of wires one wire is black and the other is white. How would i wire it so that I can have an out let that is always hot and the light still be operated by the switch?

Thanks
Are there any other wires in the back of the box? If not it won't be possible.

Advertisement

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 04:14 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,355
Rewards Points: 3,504
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Adding a Outlet to a box with a switch


Two problems.
1. Only two wires indicates a switch loop. There is no neutral so you can't add a receptacle.
2. It's the kitchen. Kitchen receptacles are not permitted to be on a circuit with anything else. You can't have them on the same circuit as the lights. You need to pull a new #12 cable from the panel for your new 20 amp kitchen circuit.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (01-28-2012)
Reply

Tags
adding new wall plug , old house outlets


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding an outlet from a switch skdiy Electrical 18 01-15-2012 05:12 AM
Changing 2 way switch to control light, not outlet? andysam Electrical 0 05-30-2011 10:20 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 02:24 AM
Adding additional outlet. Pigtail four sets of wires? svanhess Electrical 5 07-12-2009 11:27 PM
wiring a dedicated switch to a outlet Michel Electrical 2 09-18-2008 07:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts