Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-28-2012, 02:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Adding a Outlet to a box with a switch


Hi!
I live in an older house and in the kitchen there is only one outlet. To make things easy I want to add an outlet right next to the light switch.

In the bow where the switch is there is one set of wires one wire is black and the other is white. How would i wire it so that I can have an out let that is always hot and the light still be operated by the switch?

Thanks

twmorga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 02:44 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

Adding a Outlet to a box with a switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by twmorga
Hi!
I live in an older house and in the kitchen there is only one outlet. To make things easy I want to add an outlet right next to the light switch.

In the bow where the switch is there is one set of wires one wire is black and the other is white. How would i wire it so that I can have an out let that is always hot and the light still be operated by the switch?

Thanks
Are there any other wires in the back of the box? If not it won't be possible.

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 03:14 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,369
Default

Adding a Outlet to a box with a switch


Two problems.
1. Only two wires indicates a switch loop. There is no neutral so you can't add a receptacle.
2. It's the kitchen. Kitchen receptacles are not permitted to be on a circuit with anything else. You can't have them on the same circuit as the lights. You need to pull a new #12 cable from the panel for your new 20 amp kitchen circuit.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (01-28-2012)
Reply

Tags
adding new wall plug, old house outlets


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding an outlet from a switch skdiy Electrical 18 01-15-2012 04:12 AM
Changing 2 way switch to control light, not outlet? andysam Electrical 0 05-30-2011 09:20 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
Adding additional outlet. Pigtail four sets of wires? svanhess Electrical 5 07-12-2009 10:27 PM
wiring a dedicated switch to a outlet Michel Electrical 2 09-18-2008 06:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.