Adding Outlet For Above Stove Microwave - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2010, 02:39 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding outlet for above stove microwave


First let me start by saying, I don't know much about home electrical wiring, but I can do simple things like replacing outlet boxes and light switches.

I'm redoing our kitchen, removed the old hood with exhaust fan over the stove, it was hard wired by two wires (black and white) covered with a flexible metal sheeth (which I'm told is the ground) coming out of the wall. I bought a new "over the oven" microwave which has a standard 3 prong plug.

My question is, can I just install an RFI outlet using those just those two wires coming out of the wall, install the box in the cabinet above the microwave and plug it in? The power supply for the two wires is on the same breaker as most of the kitchen, (not stove or dishwasher, which have their own), but the lights and other electrical outlets.

Advertisement

bobbysan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 04:16 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Adding outlet for above stove microwave


Where are you located ?

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 06:00 PM   #3
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 189
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Adding outlet for above stove microwave


Is this a microwave & hood fan? Or is it just a microwave sitting on a shelf above the stove?

For a micro/hood fan unit consult the installation instructions. Most require a dedicated circuit and cannot share with other outlets in the kitchen.
Jupe Blue is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 06:54 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding outlet for above stove microwave


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Where are you located ?
San Diego
bobbysan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 06:59 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding outlet for above stove microwave


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jupe Blue View Post
Is this a microwave & hood fan? Or is it just a microwave sitting on a shelf above the stove?

For a micro/hood fan unit consult the installation instructions. Most require a dedicated circuit and cannot share with other outlets in the kitchen.
Yes it's a hood fan also, but now I'm realizing that when I flip the breaker only the hood fan and the lights (have 3 flourescent fixtures with 6 four foot bulbs) go out. All the outlets are still on. Not sure that makes any difference.

Regardless, okay let's just say I want to connect my blender to it, can it be done?
bobbysan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 07:07 PM   #6
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,271
Rewards Points: 3,182
Default

Adding outlet for above stove microwave


Many of the new microwaves draw enough anps to pop the breaker if the circuit has any thing else on it.

You could take a chance on the existing wiring---but the kitchen is under construction--now is the time to do it.


Or you could wait till every thing is finished and freshly painted and then run a new line.--Mike--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 08:01 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Adding outlet for above stove microwave


I may be wrong but I think a MW/hood combo requires a dedicated circuit
If I have read it right the code now requires a dedicated circuit for a plug in exhaust fan
Since your MW includes an exhaust fan a dedicated circuit is required 422.16

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Scuba_Dave For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (04-28-2010)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding an outlet for above the range microwave casl37 Electrical 17 03-06-2010 08:57 AM
Adding additional outlet. Pigtail four sets of wires? svanhess Electrical 5 07-12-2009 11:27 PM
Gas Stove Outlet and Over the Range Microwave theatretch85 Electrical 6 04-24-2009 09:25 AM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 10:05 PM
Microwave Outlet Move Rsinc25 Electrical 3 11-22-2007 04:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts