Adding Outdoor Light From Interior Outlet? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2013, 12:08 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 296
Rewards Points: 272
Default

adding outdoor light from interior outlet?


My neighbor had an electrician out and installed (2) outdoor night sensor/motion sensor lights lights on the back of their house. I asked my neighbor if it was much of a chore to do the wiring and he said the electrician just tapped into the outlets on the other side of the wall. Since the lights are motion/night sensor there is no reason to have a switch, so they are always on. I asked what he paid and he said $500 for (2) lights plus install. Which seems reasonable in my book but I am DIY kinda person.

I wanted to come on here and ask, does that sound about right, just install a old work box on the outside of the house, right next to an internal outlet, and then tap into it. Sounds easy enough to me, if I am understanding it correctly.

Advertisement

cbzdel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 04:49 PM   #2
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,818
Rewards Points: 1,516
Default

adding outdoor light from interior outlet?


I prefer to put the lights on switches so I have control over them.
Particularly in a backyard deck or patio situation, I want to be able to use the switch to over-ride the motion sensor, so the light will stay on.

If you are sitting around talking, do you want to wave at the light to turn it back on every few minutes ?
There may be other times when you want to turn the lights off, without killing everything else that is on the circuit you tapped into.

Advertisement

Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 04:53 PM   #3
Member
 
eastcoastsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pennsauken, NJ
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

adding outdoor light from interior outlet?


Its always good to have a kill switch or in others cases a overide

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum
eastcoastsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 05:08 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,798
Rewards Points: 712
Default

adding outdoor light from interior outlet?


Concider do it with one of these covers.
That way you have an outlet outside and switch for the lights.
What I've done is replace the outlet inside with a GFI so the outside line and the lights are protected and there's no chance of moisture causing a false trip.
http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=...electedIndex=1
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a subpanel stifler51 Electrical 1 12-27-2012 12:23 AM
Adding mass to a subfloor - am I about to do something stupid? xtrand Flooring 1 11-02-2012 02:33 PM
Adding Collar Ties to make a ceiling Joe1. Building & Construction 18 09-11-2010 10:56 PM
Adding more weight to truss system... what can it hold? Sonnie Building & Construction 7 02-06-2009 09:45 PM
Adding new duct/Register CEbury HVAC 1 06-25-2008 11:51 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts