Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2012, 10:43 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Flemington, NJ
Posts: 70
Share |
Default

adding new wired smoke detectors to existing wired smoke detectors


Hi. I own a 4 bedroom 1 1/2 story cape cod in NJ. The cape was moved about 10 years ago onto a new foundation and at that time new smoke detectors were hardwired and installed per code. These smoke detectors are interconnected with 14/3 wire with black, white, and orange. They are not wire in a series but rather a 14/3 wire terminates at each detector. I am now remodeling most of the cape and adding a 2 story addition and I will need to add new smoke detectors. I am required to have all detectors connected so they all sound if any one of them detects smoke. The new detectors are supposed to be wired in a series (1 14/3 wire coming in and 1 14/3 wire going out) and each detector has a black, red and white wire.

Does anyone know if I can simply run a 14/3 wire from one of the existing detectors to connect my new detectors (the new ones would be in series)?

Thanks!
Keith

CapeCod153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 10:46 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,583
Default

adding new wired smoke detectors to existing wired smoke detectors


The way the cabling is run to each smoke alarm does not matter whether is is all from a common point or daisy-chained. You only need them to be interconnected.

As far as running the cables the same rules apply as to box fill, securing etc.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 10:52 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Flemington, NJ
Posts: 70
Default

adding new wired smoke detectors to existing wired smoke detectors


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The way the cabling is run to each smoke alarm does not matter whether is is all from a common point or daisy-chained. You only need them to be interconnected.

As far as running the cables the same rules apply as to box fill, securing etc.
Thanks, Jim! yes, the existing are daisy chained...that is the term I was looking for.

Last edited by CapeCod153; 06-20-2012 at 10:55 AM.
CapeCod153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 11:05 AM   #4
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

adding new wired smoke detectors to existing wired smoke detectors


Just a note that in days of yore mixing brands was a problem. Not sure if that is the case today or not.

Just noticed that you said your current smoke detectors are 10 years old, I believe many manufactures say that detectors are to be replaced after 7 years.

Last edited by Code05; 06-20-2012 at 11:11 AM.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 12:50 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 270
Default

adding new wired smoke detectors to existing wired smoke detectors


You can continue the circuit from any of the locations. The black and white are the line connections and the orange wire is the interconnect that sounds all of the devices when one of them activates. If each of the current smokes only have one 14/3 entering the box then there must be a junction box somewhere that they all originate from. If the detectors are 10 years old it is time to replace them. When you get everything wired buy a whole new set of detectors and replace them all at once.
teamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 07:04 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,089
Default

adding new wired smoke detectors to existing wired smoke detectors


If you can't gain access to an existing smoke alarm, they also make wireless interconnects. And the correct terminology is "alarm" not "detector"

Last edited by stickboy1375; 06-20-2012 at 07:06 PM.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 07:34 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 157
Default

adding new wired smoke detectors to existing wired smoke detectors


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
And the correct terminology is "alarm" not "detector"
Are you serious?

"Detector" is universally accepted terminology; and interchangeable with "alarm" in this case.

Get over yourself.
silversport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 07:42 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,583
Default

adding new wired smoke detectors to existing wired smoke detectors


Quote:
And the correct terminology is "alarm" not "detector"

Quote:
Originally Posted by silversport View Post
Are you serious?

"Detector" is universally accepted terminology; and interchangeable with "alarm" in this case.

Get over yourself.
He is correct, alarm is the correct term by definition. Accepted by incorrect usage does not make it right.

Try this link.

http://www.tpromo.com/fire-bbs/files/smokes2.pdf
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (06-21-2012)
Old 06-20-2012, 08:22 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Flemington, NJ
Posts: 70
Default

adding new wired smoke detectors to existing wired smoke detectors


wow...thanks everyone! Great info. I did buy all new detectors, er sorry, alarms but I originally only did that cause the existing ones had yellowed. Now I feel better that I spent the money.

I can access the junction boxes in the basement but it is easier for me just to run another 14/3 out of the one alarm's box using pigtail splices on each black, red/orange, and white wire.

Thanks again everyone!
CapeCod153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 05:03 AM   #10
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,089
Default

adding new wired smoke detectors to existing wired smoke detectors


Quote:
Originally Posted by silversport View Post
Are you serious?

"Detector" is universally accepted terminology; and interchangeable with "alarm" in this case.

Get over yourself.
Sorry, but you are misinformed with that statement. And throwing out a little education here and there does not qualify me to get over myself.

stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard Wired Smoke Detectors handy man88 Electrical 3 10-26-2009 11:15 PM
Hard wired smoke alarm in NYS ADKstorm Electrical 12 04-30-2009 09:58 PM
CO and Smoke Detectors Chemist1961 HVAC 20 01-22-2009 06:43 PM
Adding a light to an existing 3-way connection nthomp16 Electrical 2 07-21-2008 06:57 PM
Wired Smoke Detectors? bjstewa Electrical 2 05-09-2007 08:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.