Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2011, 12:21 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Park Santiago, Ca.
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to stiksandstones Send a message via Skype™ to stiksandstones
Share |
Default

adding new light, to existing switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
I'd consider a 3 gang switch box...one switch each for the lights and one for the fan. Gives you the most options for controlling the lights and fan, not to mention more room for wiring and timers. The 'skinny white wire' might be a phone line or t/stat wire....possibly used before...possibly for furture use...hard to say.
That skinny wire, looks like a lot of this alarm wire I see around attic, and in my master closet there is a whole end run of wires like that, maybe the main alarm control panel would go on this wall? Dunno, not interested in an alarm.

SO, onto my light project.
I bought this fan/light...it has the fan, light, night light:
http://broan.com/display/router.asp?ProductID=100236

Can I use this 3 button switch to control the unit? (night light, main fan light and fan)
http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053

I put a 2 gang box on the wall now...I could go back and put a 3 gang and put more switches, but would rather run it like this.

Thanks for the help.

Oh...and I ran 20amp romex wire up to that light, just one strand. Will I need more than that for this 3 switch deal?
stiksandstones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 08:50 AM   #17
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

adding new light, to existing switch


The 3-rocker combination switch that you linked can be used for the light/fan/night light, where all 3 would be independently controlled. But now some issues need to be addressed...circuit ampacity and box fill.

What is the ampacity of this circuit? Meaning what's the amperage rating of the breaker you have to turn off to make this circuit dead? 15A or 20A? (This is to see what size wires you need to have in the circuit, which is going to effect box fill) While we're at it, what else is on this circuit?

You mentioned before that you started with a single gang box, now replaced with a 2 gang box, with 3 cables going into it. What size are those cables (14ga or 12ga) and how many wires in each? (I'm guessing just black, white & ground in each).

What the cubic inch capacity of the 2-gang box you put up?

I calculate needing 32 cubic inches minimum...(a 15A circuit) based on 4-14/2 NM (3 original cables and a new one to the fan/light), 1-14/3 NM (new to the fan/light) and 2 switch yokes. (Unless you can find some 14/4 to run to the fan/light...which would save you 2 cubic inches...but I wouldn't spend alot of time looking for it...it's not very common)

If this fan/light is going above the shower, it has to be GFCI protected (see instructions). What are your plans for that?
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 06:50 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Park Santiago, Ca.
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to stiksandstones Send a message via Skype™ to stiksandstones
Default

adding new light, to existing switch


The instructions say nothing about GFI. So, is there an easy answer to "how do I do that?"

As for all your other questions, I will take pics to answer most of them in a bit.
Thanks for your time.
stiksandstones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 08:28 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Park Santiago, Ca.
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to stiksandstones Send a message via Skype™ to stiksandstones
Default

adding new light, to existing switch


Ok, the breaker controls:
1-exterior flood light
2-6 bulb master bath vanitys
2-master bath recessed cans (that set is what was in that ONE gang box that I made a 2 gang)
1-master toilet recessed can
1-hallway recessed can entering the master bedroom
4-outlets, of which 2 in master bath that say GFCI on a decal, but no red/black switches, one in master closet on that run that does have the gfi switches on it.

I've attached pics of my inside wall since I have not sealed it yet for tile, pic of my breaker box and pic of the wall that has the one gang, now 2 gang box (only took a pic to show if I need to add a gfi outlet to this wall??)

The 4 wires: One is the 2 master recessed cans (the original ONE switch), I think one is the main line/current? and the 3rd was going out to the toilet room recessed can light. The 4th is the NEW romex I put in for my fan.





stiksandstones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 11:36 PM   #20
Master of none
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada-Vancouver area
Posts: 67
Default

adding new light, to existing switch


Check with your local inspector regarding GFCI protection for your fan/light. When I installed a light above my shower, it had to have a waterproof cover. Can't speak for the fan! The Canadian code requires a minimum of 3 feet between a bathtub or shower to a light switch. The only gfci requirement I find in my code book (several years old) is for plug outlets or appliances such as whirlpool tubs.

If your fan/light may need GFCI protection then you should be able to tie in to the line downstream of your gfci plug outlet and run this to your new switch. But because this means running 2 more wires (14/2 with ground) into your 2 gang box, you may overfill it and need to get a bigger box or box extender. Your electrical supplier should be able to help you with sizing.

Regarding box filling. I am looking at an example for a 25 cu inch box. You would be allowed up to 10 wires and 5 marretts. The uninsulated (ground) wires are not included in the count.

Good luck

By the way, the electrical code allows a maximum of 11 outlets per circuit. You are at the max.

Last edited by handy andy; 03-08-2011 at 11:48 PM. Reason: Maximum outlets and box fill.
handy andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 07:44 AM   #21
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

adding new light, to existing switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by stiksandstones View Post
The instructions say nothing about GFI. So, is there an easy answer to "how do I do that?"
As per the link you provided, page 1 of the installation instructions, items 7 & 8...

7. Acceptable for use over a tub or shower when connected to a GFCI (Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter) - protected branch circuit.

8. This unit must be grounded.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 07:59 AM   #22
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

adding new light, to existing switch


The pictures don't answer these questions....

What is the ampacity of this circuit?

What size are those cables (14ga or 12ga) and how many wires in each?

What the cubic inch capacity of the 2-gang box you put up? (should stamped inside it)
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 11:02 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Park Santiago, Ca.
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to stiksandstones Send a message via Skype™ to stiksandstones
Default

adding new light, to existing switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
The pictures don't answer these questions....

What is the ampacity of this circuit?

What size are those cables (14ga or 12ga) and how many wires in each?

What the cubic inch capacity of the 2-gang box you put up? (should stamped inside it)
How do I find out how many amps the circuit is?
The cables are: romex, white AWG 14 NM-B, whatever that tells ya.
looks like it says 32 in cubic for the capacity?
stiksandstones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 11:04 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Park Santiago, Ca.
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to stiksandstones Send a message via Skype™ to stiksandstones
Default

adding new light, to existing switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
As per the link you provided, page 1 of the installation instructions, items 7 & 8...

7. Acceptable for use over a tub or shower when connected to a GFCI (Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter) - protected branch circuit.

8. This unit must be grounded.

Saw that, but doesn't tell you what your options are, just says 'do it'. Kind of like looking at the car manual if its not starting and the manual saying "you must step on pedal to make the car go forward"
stiksandstones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 11:07 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Park Santiago, Ca.
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to stiksandstones Send a message via Skype™ to stiksandstones
Default

adding new light, to existing switch


according to their wiring diagrams,
http://broan.com/ImageLibrary/broan/..._99044456A.pdf
anyone care to help how to get this wired to that 3switch unit I will put in?
stiksandstones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 05:50 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Park Santiago, Ca.
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to stiksandstones Send a message via Skype™ to stiksandstones
Default

adding new light, to existing switch


Ok, well, got it all wired, works great. None of my walls are sealed up yet, and I did not put the GFI outlet in, I take it thats a 'must have' right?
stiksandstones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Light will now switch off Manjo62 Electrical 3 02-10-2011 11:59 AM
Wiring from light to switch and on poorjohn Electrical 3 03-16-2009 01:23 PM
Electrical Question - adding a 3 way switch to existing Light Marcus23 Electrical 5 10-11-2008 08:52 AM
Adding one recessed light to exsisting switch... JayBird Electrical 1 04-03-2008 07:32 PM
Adding a light switch.... truebaca Electrical 6 07-18-2007 04:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.