Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-18-2012, 07:19 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 396
Share |
Default

Adding new light - can I use 14-3?


I'm adding a new ceiling light and I only really need about 15' 14-2 ground wire for the job. I have about 20' of 14-3 ground wire already laying around the house extra from when I installed a ceiling fan.

If I cut off the red wire on both ends is it OK to use it anyway instead of buying new wire?


Last edited by adgjqetuo; 09-18-2012 at 07:21 AM.
adgjqetuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 07:31 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,864
Default

Adding new light - can I use 14-3?


Use it anyway but do not cut off the red wire. Curl up the unused wire end and push it to the side of the outlet box or junction box.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 07:42 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,388
Default

Adding new light - can I use 14-3?


Agree. Leave the red wire. You never know if someone wants to put in a fan later then you can have separate control for the fan and light.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 07:45 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 45
Default

Adding new light - can I use 14-3?


I agree, keep the red wire. There are some remotes that you can install for the fan that need a 3 wire set up. You might look into that before you do the install. It's nice to have a remote for those hard wired in so you don't need to pull the chains. I have several ceiling fans and all but one have the wireless remote on them but one has a hard wired remote. The ones with the wireless remotes act up every once in a while but he hard wired one is flawless.
Here is a link to a remote I am talking about - http://www.homedepot.com/Lighting-Fa...1#.UFhseI1mQf4
NHtransplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 08:05 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 396
Default

Adding new light - can I use 14-3?


Sorry I didn't specify, the ceiling light is actually in the attic - so I wouldn't ever need a fan up there. I just have extra wire from a previous fan installation.

I was just going to use a light box nailed to a stud with a simple bulb fixture attached.

Something like this:

adgjqetuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 08:23 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,694
Default

Adding new light - can I use 14-3?


I would say keep the wire also, but it can be cut off if you feel you need too.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 08:44 AM   #7
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,636
Default

Adding new light - can I use 14-3?


Keep the wire or cut it off. It's up to you. If you decide to keep it, cap it off or make sure it doesn't touch any other wire.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 10:21 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Adding new light - can I use 14-3?


I agree that it makes no difference whether you cut it off or not. But if you did keep it, I would put a wirenut or some tape over the end and tuck it neatly into the far back of the box- on both sides.
Joconfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 12:42 PM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,388
Default

Adding new light - can I use 14-3?


Keep the wire. There is no reason to cut it off. You might want a receptacle up there for some reason in the future and you could use it for that.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dimmer 'crossfade' when combining light circuits mitchl Electrical 8 12-11-2011 03:00 PM
Help wiring ceiling light wylde8 Electrical 1 09-24-2009 06:29 AM
Motion Light tripping GFCI? Jonobp Electrical 5 09-07-2009 07:52 PM
Marmoleum repairs muggyfrost Flooring 8 10-16-2008 08:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.