Adding New Group Of Lights And Switch To Existing Light Circuit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2015, 12:50 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 131
Rewards Points: 193
Default

Adding new group of lights and switch to existing light circuit


Hi all,

Racking my brain trying to find the best way to add a new switched group of lights (in closet) to an existing circuit. I don't want them to be a 3 way switch. What is the best way to continue the circuit and supply power to the new lights? I've attached a (crude) diagram for reference. Do any of these options work?

1) Run wire from the old lights down to the new switch (s2)?

2) Run wire from old lights to new lights down to the new switch (s2)?

3) Run wire from old switch (s1) to new switch (s2) to new lights?

Which of these options would work best? Which option would be a "switch loop"?

Thanks as usual for your expert advice!
Attached Thumbnails
Adding new group of lights and switch to existing light circuit-circuit.jpg  

Advertisement


Last edited by gtothek; 05-11-2015 at 01:11 PM.
gtothek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 01:41 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 9,566
Rewards Points: 5,926
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Adding new group of lights and switch to existing light circuit


Only option 3 will work unless you want the new lights to also be switched by old switch. You only have switched power at the old lights. Your source of unswitched power is at the old switch.

Option two would be considered a switch loop since you go to the lights first.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding under-cabinet lights to existing circuit. stupid48 Electrical 2 07-12-2014 07:09 PM
Troubleshoot a 4-way switch circuit: instructions for a 2-year-old pete0403 Electrical 12 04-13-2014 06:54 PM
Dimming lights on one circuit, GFCI breaker tripped boatman537 Electrical 4 06-05-2012 10:43 AM
Adding 2 more lights to existing light BCH_COLIN Electrical 7 01-24-2011 11:04 AM
HowTo: Adding two exterior lights + switch, piggyback new switch off existing switch? ghost Electrical 14 04-19-2009 05:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts